Antivir+AppGuard or Antivir+Sandboxie on x64 win7?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rivalen, Dec 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Some problem with Sandboxie and AppGuard if I run all three - ie couldnt delete sandbox. I dont run SB in Experimental mode.

    Which combo is the strongest? AppGuard license is lifetime if I understand correctly?

    Best Regards
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Can't you put ie sandox in allowed list of directories to access in AppGuard?
     
  3. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Europe
    Appguard doesn't work on my Vista 32 bits, I doubt it will run on Win7.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    i had it in xp,vista and 7 with no problems
    32 and 64 bits
    now is alitle trouble in my win764
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  5. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Europe
    I had troubles to shut down my computer, need to force the shut down.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  6. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    Appguard will work on 32-bit and 64-bit. Tried it myself when it came out.
     
  7. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Europe
    bump bump
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  8. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    229
    To get Sandboxie to work with AppGuard follow these steps:

    Add the following files to the MemoryGuard exception list with write permission:

    sandboxierpcss.exe
    sandboxiedcomlaunch.exe
    sandboxiecrypto.exe

    Also add c:\sandbox folder to the folder exception list under the guarded apps tab with read/write permissions.
     
  9. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    appguard worked well on x64

    anyway OP
    if i were you i will use all of them
    antivir
    sandboxie
    appguard


    Dude i can't go on the internet without SB
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,967
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Appguard and sandboxie. Kick antivir to the curb. Don't need it. Add a good filtering firewall and your all set.
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    AppGuard runs perfect on win 7 32 bit cant speak for 64 bit.
     
  12. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    O Ya A hard Kick.:thumb:
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    After your help getting them to work to gether,I found just adding the whole C:\Sandbox did the trick at least for me it did.
     
  14. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Feel Naked with out.:D
     
  15. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    The OP uses 64 bit so additional actions are required. On 64 bit AppGuard at lock-down causes an un-resolvable issue with SBIE. At High setting in AppGuard the Privacy setting for browsers needs to be set to No. Won't be resolved unless BRN make changes. As a result AppGuard is on SBIE's known conflicts list See here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=310812
    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?KnownConflicts#appguard
    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?p=74164#74164

    Cheers
     
  16. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    All seems to work great each on its own so to speak.

    Is SB in normal mode - not experimental- still good level of protection on x64? Dont want to go Experimental since it says - "at your own risk". What risk are we talking about.

    As someone said - all three - correctly set up - could feel safe. If I choose that I will buy an AppGuard license and maybe also SB.

    With AG on default high - could someone sum up how I must handle/setup SB in AG on 64bit W7 - the comments confused me a bit.

    When I have got that right I will go on to setting Outlook up correctly within SB.

    Thanks for all help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  17. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Europe
    I'm sorry for those who read my first comments here, I was talking about Process Guard and not AppGuard, sorry for the mistake ! :oops:

    I updated my previous posts ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Floyd 57
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    367
  2. Umbra
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,986
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.