Antivir+AppGuard or Antivir+Sandboxie on x64 win7?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rivalen, Dec 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Some problem with Sandboxie and AppGuard if I run all three - ie couldnt delete sandbox. I dont run SB in Experimental mode.

    Which combo is the strongest? AppGuard license is lifetime if I understand correctly?

    Best Regards
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Can't you put ie sandox in allowed list of directories to access in AppGuard?
     
  3. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Appguard doesn't work on my Vista 32 bits, I doubt it will run on Win7.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i had it in xp,vista and 7 with no problems
    32 and 64 bits
    now is alitle trouble in my win764
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  5. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I had troubles to shut down my computer, need to force the shut down.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  6. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Appguard will work on 32-bit and 64-bit. Tried it myself when it came out.
     
  7. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    bump bump
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  8. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    To get Sandboxie to work with AppGuard follow these steps:

    Add the following files to the MemoryGuard exception list with write permission:

    sandboxierpcss.exe
    sandboxiedcomlaunch.exe
    sandboxiecrypto.exe

    Also add c:\sandbox folder to the folder exception list under the guarded apps tab with read/write permissions.
     
  9. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    appguard worked well on x64

    anyway OP
    if i were you i will use all of them
    antivir
    sandboxie
    appguard


    Dude i can't go on the internet without SB
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Appguard and sandboxie. Kick antivir to the curb. Don't need it. Add a good filtering firewall and your all set.
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    AppGuard runs perfect on win 7 32 bit cant speak for 64 bit.
     
  12. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    O Ya A hard Kick.:thumb:
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    After your help getting them to work to gether,I found just adding the whole C:\Sandbox did the trick at least for me it did.
     
  14. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Feel Naked with out.:D
     
  15. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    The OP uses 64 bit so additional actions are required. On 64 bit AppGuard at lock-down causes an un-resolvable issue with SBIE. At High setting in AppGuard the Privacy setting for browsers needs to be set to No. Won't be resolved unless BRN make changes. As a result AppGuard is on SBIE's known conflicts list See here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=310812
    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?KnownConflicts#appguard
    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?p=74164#74164

    Cheers
     
  16. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    All seems to work great each on its own so to speak.

    Is SB in normal mode - not experimental- still good level of protection on x64? Dont want to go Experimental since it says - "at your own risk". What risk are we talking about.

    As someone said - all three - correctly set up - could feel safe. If I choose that I will buy an AppGuard license and maybe also SB.

    With AG on default high - could someone sum up how I must handle/setup SB in AG on 64bit W7 - the comments confused me a bit.

    When I have got that right I will go on to setting Outlook up correctly within SB.

    Thanks for all help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  17. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I'm sorry for those who read my first comments here, I was talking about Process Guard and not AppGuard, sorry for the mistake ! :oops:

    I updated my previous posts ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.