anti virus software security suites and resourse useage

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lodore, Jun 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi

    i was wondering if someone could tell me the resourse useage of the following anti virus programs

    F-Secure (using currently)
    Kaspersky 6.0
    bitdefender 9.0

    what I am saying is I want to know how much ram and cpu is used on adverage on all these programs above.
    so if you have any of the above programs can you show me a picture of the processes tab and then high light the ones used by your AV and or secuirty program
    I hope you know what I mean

    thanks in advance lodore
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    KAV about 4.000 K, 0.49% cpu
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I think you only show one of the two exe components. One is avp.exe NAME and the other is avp.exe System.
    My KAV6 in WTM is showing,
    ave.exp Name - 4196K
    avp.exe System - 4044K, but varies from slightlyover 2000K to 7000K

    Total approx 8200K, but has shown as much as 11,757K. that is still much lighter than any other AV I have used, including NOD32, Avast Home and Bit Defender. FWIW NOD used a total of 22,216 on the same machine when I tested it.

    I have no idea why the variation when I am not doing anything different. I do have Mailwasher Pro and my OE open.
    I just checked MW by checking mail, and the usage for the system component went to over 8,000K. Interesting.

    I have no idea what the suite uses.

    I forgot about F-Secure on my laptop.
    The usage totals 46,304K now. I do not notice the usage, but it is certainly very heavy compared to KAV and NOD. I do not remember what Bit Defender used.

    Hope this helps,
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2006
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Do you mean the SUITES or the STANDALONE AV's?
     
  5. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    both suites and av's
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.