Anti-Hacker 1.7.30 and Lan problems

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by backfolder, Apr 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. backfolder

    backfolder Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Spain
    Hi all,

    I´ve just installed the Anti-hacker software trial 1.7. I have my main PC and a WiFi Lan with other remote PC (192.168.0.2). This second PC connects to internet through this main PC (where I´m writting - 192.168.0.1).

    The thing is that whit Norton IS 2004, there´s was no problem, it has an intelligent way of detect your network. But with Kav-AH I can´t see the 2nd PC resources and shared folders, and I can´t access to the internet.

    I don´t exactly know if I need to configure in Filter Rules the ALG.EXE or other "system-network" process to make it run. So any advice you give me is really really wellcome.

    BTW, I´ve just disabled the Stealth Mode ckeckbox.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi backfolder

    If there is no convenient way to permit LAN traffic (trusted zone) you will need to create a rule for your LAN permitting inbound and outbound TCP/UDP using the subnet mask in the address (192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0). This rule should be at the top of your rule set.

    While this is a fairly broad rule, it accomplishes the same thing the network wizard in NIS does.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. backfolder

    backfolder Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Spain
    Thanks CrazyM, I´ve just created 4 rules both 2 for Incoming UDP and TCP, and other two for Outgoing TCP and UDP, also added to the four rules the subnet mask and still don´t work. There´s no Ping to the other computer.

    I´ve created another rule for the netbios port 139. It still don´t works.

    backfolder.-
     
  4. backfolder

    backfolder Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Spain
    Really weird! It´s the best firewall in LOW system usage but the Lan it´s imposible to configure, and the worst: I´ve have an error same as "KAVPF has encounter and error and need to be closed" while configuring the PORTS and APLICATIONS in the buttom bar at the main window. Tooooo bad! It´s not reasonable a firewall to do this, so I´ve installed NortonPF 2005. I´ve tried before NPF05 Tiny PF 2005 (but this old little one has grow, and now it takes so much resources, more than NPF05) and Outpost (also takes so much resources here)
    Anyway KAVPF is far away of the easy way of auto-configure of NPF2004/5 and the bug commented before, have made me to reject this KAV solution.

    Thanks for your help!

    backfolder.-
     
  5. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Without seeing the exact rules you created it is difficult to make suggestions. To enable ICMP echo requests (pings) would have required another rule. When trouble shooting rules remember your logs are your friend and should indicate what is going on and what adjustments may be needed to your rules.

    Using something you understand and are comfortable in configuring is important. It is just a matter of finding what works best for you.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.