Another Silly Question - Sorry (Split)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by root, Jan 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    User, I noticed you have two Firewalls installed. Not a good idea. Having two firewalls installed can cause problems you might not even be aware of. Not the same as AVs with one running resident.
    Also, running with two resident AVs can cause problems that may no be apparent. Any time you have two pieces of software trying to do the same thing at the same time, in the same place, there will likely be conflicts.

    - Edit made to allow split-off of firewall portion - LWM
     
  2. mfreemanhcp7

    mfreemanhcp7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    England's Sunny South Coast!!
    Re:Another Silly Question - Sorry

    Thanks root,

    RE: Firewall, actually I am running only one. I had been running ZA but since trialling Sygate have disabled autostart on ZA and do not have the program running. I don't really won't to uninstall it as I have my programs and other settings already established.

    This should be OK shouldn't it?

    P.S. Don't want to start a FW cross thread here.

    Thanks
     
  3. StarFox

    StarFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Alpha Quadrant
    Re:Another Silly Question - Sorry

    Hy user17 ,
    even if you took ZA out of startup there still could be a process running called >TrueVector< [C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE-service]
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Re:Another Silly Question - Sorry

    Actually, we can split the firewall posts off and move them to the other firewall section since a few have already been made here. I'll do that later - So long as anyone replying from this point forward doesn't mix AV and FW answers in a single reply. ;)

    Well unfortunately, just having two software firewall packages installed can cause unseen conflicts that you may never know or realize. Most firewalls install drivers that still load even if you don't have their processes running. It is strongly recommended to only have one installed and when removing any firewall, be sure it all is removed.

    My recommendation in your case would be once you decide which you'll use, remove both entirely and check your registry for leftovers, then reinstall the one you decide to keep.
     
  5. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I agree! ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ttomm1946
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    511
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.