Another Firewall question

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by imperium, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imperium

    imperium Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    England
    Hello,

    PrevxHelp mentioned that the WSAE Firewall will work with Kaspersky Internet Security Firewall activated as well. My question is: Doesn't WSAE's Firewall work with Windows Firewall and that Windows Firewall must be activated? I'm pretty sure the Windows Firewall is incompatible with Kaspersky's Firewall. Please explain. Sorry for asking so many questions! :)
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    WSA's firewall will work with other firewalls as I still use Look'n'Stop Firewall without issues and I could of used Look'n'Stop firewall with Windows firewall as well! If you have KIS and WSA-E you don't need to have Windows Firewall on! It's just they made WSA-E and WSA-C compatible with other firewalls including Windows Firewall!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  3. imperium

    imperium Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    England
    Thanks for the clarification, Trips! :thumb:
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anytime the WSA team makes it easy for me as they try to make everything compatible with Prevx and now WSA! ;)

    TH
     
  5. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Prevx and Webroot have found amazingly intelligent, efficient ways to make their software compatible alongside other security software.

    Just don't tell the other guys that, because they'll scream at you to uninstall Webroot and only EVER use 1 protection product at one time. :p
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :) If this does start to occur, you "should" be able to uninstall WSA, install the other AV, and then install WSA again. If it continues to complain, you can uncheck the option Settings - Basic Configuration - "Show Webroot in the Windows Action Center" which usually clears away any perceived incompatibilities.
     
  7. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Haha...I didn't mean "the other guys" application will scream at you, I literally meant the support technicians will scream at you.

    I was referring to Microsoft Answers for Microsoft Security Essentials. I told them about WSA+MSE and they called me irresponsible for recommending to run MSE with another real-time product. :(
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :doubt: That's definitely unhelpful. In an industry where no product is perfect, a layered defense is always worthwhile if you can afford the CPU cycles. We've designed WSA to be light enough to run alongside another AV without noticing it and strong enough to run alone if you prefer. I hope the other companies start to recognize this!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.