AnitVir PersonalEdition ( BUG )

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Az7, Mar 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Hello.

    I want to say : This Anti-Virus is superb. Yeah when (Win32 heuristic is @ "High detection level" option in its configuration panel).

    however, something is wrong in the configuration panel itself :
    If you want to change the (guard) action when virus is found simply you can't change it, because NO options available but one option (Interactive)!.

    I think it is better to put a "Check-Box" in the config options instead of "Select option" :-

    [Expert mode -> Gurad -> Scan -> Action on maleware -> Handling when maleware is detected.

    From AntiVir HELP :-
    "
    Handling when malware is detected
    You can define actions that the Guard is to carry out when a virus or unwanted program is detected.

    Interactive
    If this option is enabled :D , a dialog window appears during the on-access scan when a virus or unwanted program is detected in which you can choose what is to be done with the file concerned. This option is enabled as the default setting :blink: .
    "
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's not a bug but a limitation of free version. In Premium edition you can pre-define actions for both, On-Demand scan and Guard. In Classic edition you can only have Interactive for Guard and full control over On-Demand scanner part.
    Help file is probably a generalized version for both editions.
     
  3. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    If you put the mouse over (Interactive) option.. you 'll read something wrong also in the [description box] @ the bottom. (not from help file).

    btw, If it is a limitation..
    ..then, the "Handling when maleware is detected" box is useless. isn't it?
     
  4. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Where is this High level detection in config menu?
     
  5. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    iwod, this is under Guard -> Search -> Heuristic

    Az7, as said before, this limitation is intended for the Classsic version. The Premium/Pro edition has other actions you can set as default on detection.
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Stefan forgot to mention you have to enable Expert mode in order to see these extra settings.
     
  7. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    is this on premium version? Coz i dont see this option in my one. even under expert mode.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
  9. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Thx... dont know how the hell did i miss that
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.