Android security

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Arcanez, Feb 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arcanez

Arcanez Registered Member

they there,

I am a complete noob when it comes to mobile phones and security. Never the less I got myself a new smart phone which is based on the android OS and I wonder if there's anything to do security-wise before surfing the internet or doing something else. I know there are some security suites out there for mobile phones like Gdata, Symantec or Kaspersky but are these really necessary? Any help is appreciated.

thanks!

2. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

No those mobile sweets are not necessary and they do almost nothing. Android sandboxes all applications and there are severe limitations on them - this prevents malware from being able to do serious damage and it prevents AVs from being useful in any way.

Android's fairly secure in terms of exploit mitigation.

One easy way to stay secure is to root your phone. This means you can remove applications that are built in and control things at a very low level. The problem is that you are bypassing some hardware security for more software security (bypassing the bootloader to enhance the kernel.) That's a road you can explore if you're interested.

Otherwise your phone is fine as it is. Be wary of applications on the market but otherwise you should be fine.

3. x942

x942 Guest

+1

But if you are using a Nexus Series phone you can re-lock it again without losing your data or root. :)

Also if you only download from the market you should be fine, just don't install anything that has weird permissions (I.E. a Game that wants contacts and GPS data is likely trying to steal your info and sell it).

4. thesawisfamily17

thesawisfamily17 Registered Member

try dr web lite,awsome program for the andriod.

5. Arcanez

Arcanez Registered Member