Android OS: Do you use a Firewall?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Sampei Nihira, Oct 6, 2014.

?

Android OS: Do you use a Firewall?

  1. No

    14 vote(s)
    48.3%
  2. Yes

    8 vote(s)
    27.6%
  3. I'm not interested

    7 vote(s)
    24.1%
  1. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
    Do you use a Firewall on your Android SmartPhone, Tablet, etc.?
    Please motivate your choices.
    TH.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2014
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    No. My phone is not connected to the internet.
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I'm not interested. Don't even use outbound firewall on my laptop.
     
  4. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    I never thought about. Doesn't Android already use a firewall of sorts through its Linux kernel? (or am I being stupid?) So if you did install one on Android, it'd be more for the sake of controlling what connects to the internet and setting up your own whitelist.

    I looked on F-Droid and there's one called AFWall+ https://f-droid.org/repository/browse/?fdfilter=AFWall+&fdid=dev.ukanth.ufirewall If I were to try one, I guess it'd be that.
     
  5. new2security

    new2security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    492
    I have installed NoRoot Firewall and I am happy about its performance and features. As the name implies, you don't need to root your phone to have a firewall installed.
    I was amazed how many apps that really did not need access to the network was asked and denied by the FW.
     
  6. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Same here, using noroot.
     
  7. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi.
    Is not always supported.
     
  8. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    I don't use a firewall and probably never will. I don't see much need for using one on my Android devices.
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    You can block use of background data on Android natively these days.
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    As my router has a firewall I never even thought about one for my Android tablet.
     
  12. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    446
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Dr. Web for android with their Firewall!

    Kind regards,
    :thumb:
     
  13. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Why I should use a FW on my android phone? I fail to see the point of it.
     
  14. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    Not for security purposes but on Android phones, I used it in an attempt to block some apps from making unnecessary (from my POV) connections. E.g. games, keyboard, etc.

    On my old phone, I used Grey Shirts NoRoot firewall which allows for granular rules. On my current phone, it has native feature to restrict apps data/Wi-Fi usage so I use it instead.
     
  15. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    No, but I guess I should... On my Windows tablet I run Windows built-in firewall with Windows Firewall Control so I'd like something like that on my android phone too. What's are the best free android firewalls (and yes, my phone is rooted)? With Wifi, 3G, bluetooth, NFC and this-and-that features of my smartphone I'm a bit worried, but at the same time those features are convenient and I'm also worried a firewall could make things annoying.
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Thought I didn't need a firewall, but just realized I can only block background data and not foreground ads. Using NoRoot.
     
  17. constantine76

    constantine76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    178
    I also use NoRoot Firewall. I use it to block apps that always connect to home when data transfer is "on". I used to be victim of bill-shock from my carrier. You know carriers they hide some billing and then they blame the apps that you are using. Even the apps that the carrier hosts call to home and eat up your credits.
     
  18. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I dont use any firewall even though Avast! Premium comes with it.
     
  19. Gitmo East

    Gitmo East Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Posts:
    106
    Noroot uses the android VPN service to route the connections through therefore using a VPN is not possible whilst using Noroot. Also IPv6 is not supported.
    AFwall uses IPtables and can force all or selected app traffic thru your VPN/Lan/etc which in my opinion is a winner. IPv6 is also supported. A rooted device is needed however.
    I have only had a quick look so far so I'm willing to stand corrected but I would say AFwall is much more secure and the better choice for locking the device down for those of us that are privacy conscious.
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Except you need root, which isn't always an option. I switched to LostNet cause NoRoot Global Filters wouldn't work on my device no matter what I do.
     
Loading...