Android 7.1 Gets Major Security Feature to Block Infected Apps

Discussion in 'mobile device security' started by Minimalist, Jul 10, 2017.

  1. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,370
    Location:
    Here
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/andr...y-feature-to-block-infected-apps-516897.shtml
     
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,350
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Too bad my S7 Edge is still stuck on 7.0 for now...
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,164
    Makes me glad I have a Pixel.
     
  5. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,350
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Oh almost forgot, Lollipop too. That one is perhaps the system I like best for it's customizations.

    I keep them all OFFLINE and only use them occasionally through WiFi. Comes in handy.

    Honor 5X does sport dual sim ports if needed which it hasn't yet, but the other's battery life is infinitely better (massive power packs) and that's perhaps the best motivation for wanting to see this ported backward.
     
  6. Beyonder

    Beyonder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    468
    This will come in real handy in a century or two when my Moto G4 gets Oreo.
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,244
    Location:
    Outer space
    The title is a misleading imho. It can bypass the screenlocking behavior of ransomware, but it doesn't 'block' it.
    And they say infected/compromised apps, but that goes only for the ransomware kind, there is not much use to this with for example data stealing malware or apps that spy your camera, or whatever.
    Still might be a very useful feature though.
     
  8. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
    Is your Moto G4 still on marshmallow or has it upgraded to Nougat? I'm looking for an Android phone that updates rapidly like the Nexus but can't justify the price of a Google Pixel. I like the sound of the new Nokia Smart Phones that some have described as Nexus replacements and they are very reasonably priced.
     
  9. Beyonder

    Beyonder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    468
    It's currently on Android 7.0.

    Here's what I'm planning: Wait for Android O to launch, project Treble will make Android O launch phones easier to update for the manufacturer which means future updates will likely be faster. So sit tight for 5 months, the Moto G4 just isn't anywhere near Nexus speed.

    Not to mention the fact that my security patch level is only March 2017.
     
  10. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
    Thanks for the advice regarding the speed of the Moto G4. Waiting five months for Oreo to emerge does sound a long time though.
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,164
    That is the one thing I hate about Android. If it is not a Nexus or Pixel, for the most part, we as a consumer are screwed. Last I checked Samsung has gotten a lot better at releasing more timely monthly security updates, but I can't stand Touchwizz so I won't buy them anymore.
     
  12. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Ya, my stupid carrier and my s5 im still on Android 6.0.1 and Dec 2016 security patch!!!!! :mad::mad:
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,164
    I know it is crazy. Same thing with my wife's Moto X. Insanity!
     
  14. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    mmmm loving my S2 with 7.1.2 and June 2017 Security...
     
  15. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    What carrier do you have? I have a small City private carrier and they suck when it comes to keeping Androids updated!!!!
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Tab S2 right?...
     
  17. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    Samsung Galaxy S2 I9100... not the tablet

    XDA Forum thread
    Lineage OS Releases for I9100

    I get my updates manually via the above Lineage OS website... makes things easier, I prefer the hands-on approach since it prevents niggling issues like carrier-reliability etc...
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
  18. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I see, can I get these for my s5? if so what's involved?
     
  19. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    I think they provide for the S5... is your model number G900H?
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Unlocked bootloader for sure. Root and custom recovery most likely needed as well.
     
  21. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Looking in "about device" it shows model number SM-G900R6
     
  22. illumination

    illumination Guest

    Stuck on 7.0 here until our carrier decided to catch up. Not sure I'm liking these huge gaps with security patches being applied.
     
  23. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
    Just updated my Nexus 9 tablet with the July security patch (great) but I will be stuck on 7.1.1 for ever and a day now because it's not included in Google's list of update devices beyond this point (not great).
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  24. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,707
    The LineageOS wiki has a list of devices which are supported. You'll see that several S5 variants are mentioned. You have to check if one of them applies to your model.

    EDIT: Btw, root is not required. But you have to install a custom recovery (specifically TWRP) - this is the most difficult part. It can be done for Samsung models with heimdall which is recommended in the LOS wiki. However, I found that it doesn't work with all models so using the Odin tool is often the better way. You'll find many instructions on the web how to use it. Once that is done, installing LineageOS and the Google Apps is easy.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  25. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Ok thanks.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.