An error has occurred while adjusting Personal firewall integration.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by blunt0ne, Jan 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blunt0ne

    blunt0ne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Running ESET Smart Security Business 4.

    Keep getting the following error on some clients.

    During execution of Personal firewall on the computer JOE-LAPTOP, the following warning occurred: An error has occurred while adjusting Personal firewall integration. Please restart the computer and try making the adjustment again.

    Does anyone know a fix? Happens consistently on reboots; i have specified for the personal firewall to be disabled for now in the configs but still have this issue.

    help is appreciated.

    thanks.
     
  2. blunt0ne

    blunt0ne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    mods / admin / anyone? Someone else must have experienced this.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try reinstalling it? Also are you running the latest version available?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Did you change firewall integration in the policy applied to those computers?
     
  5. blunt0ne

    blunt0ne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the replies.

    I did change the packaged configuration to disable firewall integration.

    Under - Personal Firewall - System Integration - It is set to Personal Firewall is completely disabled.


    The version i am currently running is ESET Smart Security v4.2.71.2

    I may be wrong but i do not beleive i have attempted a reinstall to the clients experiencing this issue. Although i have repushed the config numerous times in an attempt to prevent the re-occurrence.

    thanks again for your help / concern.
     
  6. S t e v e

    S t e v e Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I'm getting this message too in the same circumstances. Is there any update on it since your last post?
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does the error occur after changing the integration type to "Personal firewall is completely disabled" or even when changing it to "Only scan application protocols" ? Does the error persist after a computer restart?
     
  8. S t e v e

    S t e v e Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It only seems to occur when the firewall is disabled. Setting to "Only scan application protocols" doesn't produce the error.

    I noticed this on the change logs page:

    Version 4.0.467 - 4.0.474
    Fix: Error logs are generated while the personal firewall is disabled after every reboot of the PC

    Could this be a problem that has returned from a prevoius fix?
     
  9. S t e v e

    S t e v e Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I've had success on a few clients now, but it's a pain to sort out.

    Log in as Administrator
    Disable UAC (User Account Control) settings, remembering how it was set.
    Uninstall Smart Security
    Reboot
    Install Smart Security going down the "Custom" root when asked. I go into every option and although not changing anything away from standard I press "OK". Finish install.
    Go into advanced setup and change System Integration to "Personal firewall is completely disabled".
    Check event log for errors.
    Reboot
    Check event log for errors.
    Firewall now disabled and not generating messages.
    Re-enable UAC to prevoius setting
    Reboot
    If all still OK, reconnect to Remote Administator making sure before you do that the Remote Admin policy for this client also has the firewall disabled otherwise you'll get errors again.
    Finished

    This is just a work around. The underlying problem is still there as if I want to change the firewall back to enabled I get the error again.

    I assume it's something to do with the Smart Security policy not being able to overide the UAC settings when making the change. Having said that I could only get it to work by re-installing.

    ESET, is there a fix for this?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.