AMON not starting

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mikexyz, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mikexyz

    mikexyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I have just installed NOD32 on a 4 year old (somewhat slow) Dell computer running XP home. At startup, an error is given that AMON wasn't able to start. After startup, I am able to start AMON manually. IMON and the other's start fine. Not sure what is going on. Any help is appreciated. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello . Have no idea what 4 years old PC means
    Please provide us with your system info such as processor speed and RAM amount . Can be found and pasted from in NOD32's Control Center->NOD32 System tools -> Information

    So , I am 99% sure it can't start because there is not enough RAM for that .

    Windows XP can be installed even on 64 mb RAM however it is strongly not recommended . In order to use XP in a normal way , you should have 256 mb RAM or more .
    If you have 128 mb RAM , you'd better buy more or install Windows 2000/98se

    NOD32 needs 64 / 128 mb RAM as a recommended system requirements

    Anyway , tell us more info about your setup :thumb:
     
  3. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    When AMON doesn't start normally , it can have 4 causes:

    1) Errors on the disk
    2) There is still another (part of) antivirus installed
    3) The file \Program Files\Eset\nod32.000 is damaged or corrupted or unreadable (see 1)
    4) There is a problem with system memory (RAM)(too little memory perhaps) in your computer


    To solve 1):
    ............................................................

    Check your c:\ disk:

    In XP in explorer:
    right-click on c:\
    "properties"
    "Extra"
    "check now"

    In most cases the check will be done after a reboot,
    (Windows will ask you this)
    because the disk is 'in-use'

    If there are errors these need to be solved first

    ................


    To solve 2) :

    ............................................................
    Remove all other (rests of) AV's

    If Norton was installed before try to use this tool:

    ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/linked_files/tsgen/SymNRT.exe

    If you don't use other Norton/Symantec software then you can remove
    these directories "Symantec" and "Norton" and things like live-update.
    In C:\program files and in the subdirectory c:\program files\Common files.

    After you have removed a other AV, remove NOD32 as well, because the installtion might have gone wrong because of these problems


    remove NOD32

    - Start, Programs - Eset and uninstall


    - restart your computer

    * reinstall NOD32

    ================================================

    To solve 3) :

    ............................................................

    * reinstall nod32
    ================================================

    to solve 4) :
    ............................................................

    Run e memory test program , and check if there is enough memory in your system

    ================================================

    good luck !
     
  4. mikexyz

    mikexyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks, I am helping a friend with this so I don't have access to PC info right now. The PC is 4 years old and on the low end of what Dell offered at the time. It has at most 256 Meg of memory, but likely only 128 meg, so that may be the problem.

    Also, thanks for the link ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/englis...gen/SymNRT.exe. Norton was on previously, and I removed everything related to Norton or Symantec that I could find using the Add/Remove Programs. But I'll try this link as well.

    Thanks
     
  5. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Hi mikexyz,

    The amount of memory will not be the cause of the problem,
    i guess there are still things of Norton running (or one of the other causes).

    Please check in the registry as well:

    Start, run, regedit <enter>,
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    SOFTWARE
    and remove the key of NORTON / SYMANTEC
    (unless there is other (not-AV-) software of that brand running)

    you can also do this,
    start, run, msconfig

    and check the processes (not Microsoft) for Norton and startup programs
     
  6. 'G'

    'G' Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It's a problem with NOD32 itself that needs to be addressed.

    As a software tester I have a high-spec machine and this AMON error message on startup is quite frequent. One has to manually start it after a few attempts that initially fail to start it manually.

    It may be dependent on the number of programs on startup having an effect on AMON starting up.
     
  7. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Nope, there is something on the system that prevents AMON to start normally.

    That can either be conflicting software, like a (part of) other AV
    or other Antimalware program

    F.i. Norton AV is famous for the junk it will leave behind on your system
    after an uninstall.
    There will be complete directories, reg-keys and even processes (in some cases) on your system after an uninstall.
    That will prevent any other AV from installing and running normally.
    That is why Symantec/Norton have made that uninstall tool (see posts above).

    'G' if you keep having problems with AMON yourself, you better send a mail to nod32 support in your country, because this can always be solved.

    tuatara
     
  8. Carl Farrington

    Carl Farrington Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Manchester, England, U.K.
    I have only come across this this problem after a dirty shutdown. For some reason, AMON is more likely than anything to not start after a BSOD. I don't know just how frequently the AMON component itself is updated, but I tend to assume filesystem corruption and force a chkdsk /f then reboot.. All is always well.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Agreed.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. 'G'

    'G' Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I've just completed a new build and it has happened once or twice.

    I have found the quick solution is to click on Update>Update Now and then go to AMON >check “File system monitor AMON enabled”.

    It probably is a software conflict as there was software that I wasn’t able to use until this clean install that works fine now.

    I guess the more software one installs the more conflicts that will occur.

    As I software test, there is not much I can do about it though, except go virtual or revert to a clean image.
     
  11. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    It sounds like one or more of the applications required for testing (or one or of the applications you are testing) may be conflicting with AMON's ability to successfully initialize on the computer.

    If you wipe the computer's hard disk drive, reload the operating system (along with patches such as service packs and hot-fixes), install the latest device drivers for the computer's hardware to create a "clean" environment and then install NOD32, does the problem occur? If not, you will need to continue installing applicatoins onto the computer until you are able to exercise the conflict.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  12. 'G'

    'G' Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I'II do that soon and get back to you.

    Thanks for the reply and keep up the great job in developing NOD32.

    It's the only AV prog I recommend as an IT technician nowadays.

    Light on resources and a power and effective AV prog.

    I do wish that possible infection submissions were confirmed etc, as I have sent in files in the past and they have still not been sorted. Or I have a file that I need confirmation as to whether it is ok or not as it resides in system32.

    I’m time poor as it is, and I’m more than happy to help developers that take notice. If they don’t I no longer bother.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.