AMON malfunction with Vista 64-bit

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by muppen100, Feb 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. muppen100

    muppen100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    I recently changed computers and had to upgrade to Vista 64-bit. When I tried installing NOD32 Antivirus the AMON would not start. It just said "Malfunctioning". This was on a completely clean Windows installation. I have tried with versions 3.0.667 and 3.0.684 as well as the v4 BETA. Same problem. I can still update the software, but AMON refuses to work, which has forced me to install another antivirus software.

    Computer spec:
    Core i7 920
    Asus P6T Deluxe
    6 GB Corsair DDR3
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit

    Does anyone know a solution to this problem?
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Did you actually install the 64bit version?
     
  3. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,958
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I have never had any problems using NOD with Vista 64x. You must have something else going on that is causing your problem. It's not Vista.
     
  4. muppen100

    muppen100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Of course I installed the 64bit version :D

    I understand that the problem isn't Vista, since I know several people who have NOD32 installed on Vista 64, but there has to be some sort of service not working/started or a setting that prevents AMON to work on my computer. I can't figure out what it is though.
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, muppen100

    Welcome to Wilders.

    I have no Idea why you are having problems.

    Only to say I Installed NOD32 v3 x64 on both Vista Ultimate x64 and Windows 7 x64 Beta without any problem, I also tested v4 [which I am not to keen on] on both OS without a problem.

    Sorry I could be of no real help to you.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Manu7204

    Manu7204 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    iirc amon was a component from the old nod32 v2.x

    currently using nod32 v3 versions .621 up to .657 on vista64/xp64/2003x64 without any issues.
     
  7. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello muppen100,

    Try disabling UAC and reboot.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.