AMON causes W2K3 SBS roaming profile fail

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by DiscoDad, Sep 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DiscoDad

    DiscoDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Small network, 1 x Windows 2003 Small Business Server and 7 x W2K Pro w/s. Users set with roaming profiles, and usually work at the same w/s, but sometimes move to another desk ( not all staff work 9-5 M-F )

    All w/s running NOD32 OK.

    Two weeks ago, a user logged on at w/s 103 ( usually at 102 ), and was unable to download her roaming profile, ( unable to copy one of the files ). Deleted part of the profile and tried again, and got same error but a bit more through the download/copy process. Had to disable AMON in order to logon, and delete entire profile and logon with AMON disabled, to get profile downloaded. Re-enable AMON, now can logon OK.

    Today, a different user logged on at a w/s 107 ( usually at 105 ) and got same error as first user above.

    Other users have logged on and off on other w/s over the past two weeks without any problems.


    Any ideas on what's going on ?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Have you tried setting AMON to use the default extension set instead of scanning all files? (recommended for servers)
     
  3. DiscoDad

    DiscoDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Thanks Marcos.

    AMON is configured to scan all extensions. ( NOD32 configured as per Blackspear's tute )

    NOD32 is not installed on the server, is only installed on the 7 w/s.
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Removed the checkmark for "network" in the media section of AMON?
     
  5. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    The original configuration when first installed provides for a very high level of detection and compatability.
    Blackspears extra settings provide for maximum detection and automation. Note the different intent and that's why NOD32 doesn't come pre-configured as per Blackspears extra settings even though in many cases there is no issue when NOD32 is tuned that way.

    What AV are you protecting your server with?

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.