AMON causes W2K3 SBS roaming profile fail

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by DiscoDad, Sep 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DiscoDad

    DiscoDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Small network, 1 x Windows 2003 Small Business Server and 7 x W2K Pro w/s. Users set with roaming profiles, and usually work at the same w/s, but sometimes move to another desk ( not all staff work 9-5 M-F )

    All w/s running NOD32 OK.

    Two weeks ago, a user logged on at w/s 103 ( usually at 102 ), and was unable to download her roaming profile, ( unable to copy one of the files ). Deleted part of the profile and tried again, and got same error but a bit more through the download/copy process. Had to disable AMON in order to logon, and delete entire profile and logon with AMON disabled, to get profile downloaded. Re-enable AMON, now can logon OK.

    Today, a different user logged on at a w/s 107 ( usually at 105 ) and got same error as first user above.

    Other users have logged on and off on other w/s over the past two weeks without any problems.


    Any ideas on what's going on ?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Have you tried setting AMON to use the default extension set instead of scanning all files? (recommended for servers)
     
  3. DiscoDad

    DiscoDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Thanks Marcos.

    AMON is configured to scan all extensions. ( NOD32 configured as per Blackspear's tute )

    NOD32 is not installed on the server, is only installed on the 7 w/s.
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Removed the checkmark for "network" in the media section of AMON?
     
  5. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    The original configuration when first installed provides for a very high level of detection and compatability.
    Blackspears extra settings provide for maximum detection and automation. Note the different intent and that's why NOD32 doesn't come pre-configured as per Blackspears extra settings even though in many cases there is no issue when NOD32 is tuned that way.

    What AV are you protecting your server with?

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.