Am I the only one?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bradtech, Mar 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    Not having any issues at the moment with Version 4.0? Seems to be going good here...

    All my servers are 2008 server
    A few 2003,2000 Servers

    Desktop clients are all Windows XP SP2 and SP3

    My File Cluster Server is not taking a performance hit.. I got an RDP session into it right now watching ekrn as I copy and paste over a large with encrypted packers *plus a whole state agency is writing to it also right now*..

    I'm not saying you guys having issues are doing something wrong.. I just don't want people thinking it's the norm.

    Yeah I have criticisms of NOD32 sometimes but I do anything can be improved is my mindset, and I state my opinions..
     
  2. Adramalech

    Adramalech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Uhm I guess you've installed EAV and not ESS...

    Shouldn't be much of a burden yes.
     
  3. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    Yeah, I did not want the headache of having an all in one package even from ESET.. Parasite protection is all I need.. I got Inbound and Outpout filtering at the network level security wise on layer 3 devices..


     
  4. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    The only problem I had is the installer screwing up because it mangles some registry keys and it won't upgrade from v3 to v4. But that can be sorted out by deleting out the Nod32 key out of HKCR\Installer\Products before running the msi. I had a problem with the SSL scanning on activesync not liking each other back in the beta, but I haven't tested it with the new release.
     
  5. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    no, it's been running nicely for me too.

    currently using:
    Windows 7 x86 build 7057.
     
  6. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Now that's interesting, because I had a slowdown issue with some web pages when running this combo on Vista 32bit using IE7.

    Can I ask what OS you have? I have heard that WinXP doesn't seem to be affected.
     
  7. STRYDER

    STRYDER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    I've used ESS and EAV 4.0 and haven't had any issues. In all fairness you have to consider the environment most of these admins are in when tey choose to install new security software. Some of them are kind of...n00bish
     
  8. goran_larsson

    goran_larsson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    have you checked any computer for any event log for 6004 and 3019 events ?

    /Göran
     
  9. STRYDER

    STRYDER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Ah, I know what you mean. If you are having this much trouble i really recommend you submit a support request. Get someone to walk you through the configuration or reinstallation.
     
  10. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Running fine here.
     
  11. goran_larsson

    goran_larsson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Well I can't exactly point to a specific problem due to these events but it comes down to filtering events I get alot more to filter or look at which in itself is pretty annoying, especiallly when it comes down to servers but also red and yellow entries in the client logs are a pain whenever you need to spike some "other" problem down.

    I just send a support request lets see what happens, But during these conditions I can't upgrade any more machines especially the servers.

    Cheers Goran
     
  12. Argonite

    Argonite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Running V4 on three XP Pro SP3 systems for about a week.
    No problems, no errors logged and find V4 using almost the same amount of memory as V3.
    All systems running Comodo Firewall 3.8.65951.477
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.