Am I out of luck using 64-bit Vista?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by jmyork1983, Aug 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmyork1983

    jmyork1983 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    I was hoping to buy Shadow Defender or something similar. I downloaded the trial and it wouldn't install in my 64 bit Vista.

    I had the same problem with Online Armor except I DID buy it and had to get a refund because it wouldn't work.

    Are there any replacements for these two excellent programs that WILL work in a 64 bit environment? I have the 64 bit OS so I can see all 4 gb of memory I have. Thank you very much.
     
  2. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Do you really need OA and other HIPS? x64 is stable and protected from many vulnerabilities plaguing x32 including rootkits etc. MS did a swell job with Patch Guard and along with that if you enable DEP and LUA, you are all safe and set. Use a secure browser and a good top of the line AV with Vista firewall set for inbound and outbound and thats all you need. Don't sacrifice this high performing OS just because it doesn't support your favorite HIPS.
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I believe there is a tread somewhere on Wildersfor security programs that work on a 64 bit OS.
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Hammer, is this thread you was referring to?

    I agree with Arup though. Vista x64 is secure enough without having all those "extras" running in the background. I only use an AV/AS/FW combo with an occasional online scan. I even run the same in Vista32 and haven't caught anything in the 17 months I have been running it. Software companies need to realize that x64 is starting to gain popularity. Even some computer companies are now offering x64 systems. I read this article in Softpedia yesterday talking about this.

    One day we will be talking about 128bit OS (probably will need an OctoCore processer and 24GB RAM :D )

    [BTW, I get all my 64bit news on Start64. It not only deals with Windows, but Mac and Linux as well]
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  6. DevilFrank

    DevilFrank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Posts:
    108
    OneCare is a good solution for Vista x64.
     
  7. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    KIS 2009 should take care of malware/spyware and as well includes a HIPS function, works on 64 bit.
     
  8. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    Actually only Comodo Firewall that is able to handle 64 bit, I wonder why Zonelabs and Agnitum don´t handle 64 bit.
     
  9. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Avira Premium suite is x64 compatible.
     
  10. Neoxellos

    Neoxellos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    Great site, thanks midway40.
     
  11. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    Agree. Now there is another 64 bit wall.
     
  12. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    You're welcome, guys :)

    Last week I noticed it had announcements for new 64 bit ATI Catalyst and Creative X-Fi drivers that I hadn't seen on other computer news sites. With the gaining popularity of 64 bit OSs, maybe we will see more of these kind of sites.
     
  13. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    I tested other software on 64 bit vista but Jetico is installed in x86 folder no true 64 bit, 0 keylogger protection. KIS2009 a drama (postboot 0 protection!) totally vulnerable (activation insanity makes it vulnerable to the max) it randomly connected to limelight networks with strange microsoft root certs and no keylogger protection. That was probably the last time that I tried KIS. Only two things were useful for me in KIS: anti keylogger keyboard which effectively works and system analysis. Comodo will definitely stay the best security software for Vista 64 for a long long time. But pay attention that usermode hooks are always present otherwise 0 Keylogger protection, sometimes user mode hooks disappear therefore check always MISC Diagnostics from time to time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  14. DevilFrank

    DevilFrank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Posts:
    108
    What can Comodo do that Vista x64 can´t? Why should I install this 3rd-party application?
     
  15. Arup

    Arup Guest


    Comodo will do a lot more but at the cost of speed and stability, use Windows Defender with SpyNet enabled and you will get HIPS functionality which though not as close as Comodo will have no negative impact on your system.
     
  16. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I have just installed Trend Micro AV on my Vista 64bit. It claims to be 64bit compatible but imo it is not.
    It doesnt know that it has updated the definitions. It warns that the definitions are ut of date even though it just updated them to the latest.
    Not recognized in windows security center.
    The update gets stuck most of the time. The only way to get rid of the update window (which is saying that update is in progress) is to reboot the computer.

    So off it goes from my puter and try something else.
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I am using the Norton 360 that came installed on the PC, it seems to work fine, pretty light actually, has AV, firewall, web guard of some kind, plus other stuff like backup and so on. It's a kind of set and forget type thing. I know some people hate Norton, but as Norton goes, it's not bad. I kinda like Symantec stuff anyway. I think many of the big boys so to speak should work with x64. The only drawback to 360 that I've seen so far is the defrag is painfully slow, but I have heard that said of the Vista defrag as well. It took about 4 hours to defrag 80 gigs of data on an AMD Triple Core with 4 gigs ram. Aside from that, it has been pretty good overall.
     
  18. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    All Nortons crashed on my vista 64, norton 2009 beta, norton 2008.... I stopped testing Symantec stuff on 64 bit.

    A lot.
    Vista UAC off 0 keylogger protection. Vista UAC on blocks only 1 keylogging method (journal hook), Comodo usermode hooks block all widely known methods incl raw logging. This enterprise is amazing they managed to outdistance 95% of all other security companies in a very short time. They needed probably only 2 or 3 years where others needed 12 years and the others are still far away from this quality. Especially also related to 64 bit, I assume it will take at least 3 years when other security products may follow with stability on 64 bit, what a shame that there is such a lack of widely spread professionalism in it security world but still so much money is made for leaky products. If you see the relation then you notice that this is absolutely insane.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2008
  19. CountryGuy

    CountryGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Dumb question, but LUA = ?
     
  20. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    LUA=Limited User Account
     
  21. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I never run beta anything, it's asking for problems.... 360 runs fine here, I can't comment on 2008 or anything else...
     
  22. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Not really.
    But if I were you, I would wait for Windows 7.
     
  23. DevilFrank

    DevilFrank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Posts:
    108
    Which one should it be that Vista with UAC+DEP can´t stop?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.