Am I good?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TechOutsider, May 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    I'm running Windows 7. I keep everything patched using Secunia PSI (score = 100%). I use the MVP HOSTS file replacement to block certain domains. I use Chrome exclusively.

    I basically use my computer for productivity tasks and surfing the web - nothing particularly risky.

    As far as anti-malware software goes, I have Windows Defender (integrated in Windows) and Malwarebytes. I paid for MBAM and I keep real-time protection on.

    Is this enough? Or might malware slip past MBAM and Defender?

    One more thing: I let UAC auto-elevate processes requesting administrative privileges.
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I think it's okay. The problem is that MBAM and Windows Defender don't detect everything like AVs.
    MBAM focuses on new and prevalent threats, while Windows Defender is more specialized.

    You can fix that by adding an AV or HIPS, but that's optional.
    More importantly, I would add an internet safety checker (like Sunbelt ClearCloud, and BitDefender TrafficLight), and a disk imaging program (like Paragon) or instant system recovery software.
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    If you want a nearly award winning setup, I'd run as Standard user (if you aren't already) ditch all the real-time av (but keep something for on-demand scanning), never let UAC auto-elevate anything requesting admin privileges (you'd be better off using SuRun to elevate using right-click context menu option, those processes that are known and trusted), and maybe consider browsing sandboxed, probably with SandBoxie. If you have the Ultimate version of Win7, then you can get closer to award winning by employing AppLocker instead of SandBoxie.

    For a truly award winning setup if you are running Win7 Ultimate, consider the following:

    -http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1810792&postcount=53
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Oh yeah, don't forget SRP and EMET.
     
  5. carat

    carat Guest

    Don't forget about 15 on-demand scanner :D
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Some good recommendations have already been given, but if you don't want to make many changes to your setup then I would just recommend that you add a good AV, and imaging software. Which was already recommended by J_L. I prefer NOD 32 myself just because it doesn't seem to have very much impact on my systems performance, and it has a very good detection rating. There's many more good ones to choose from like Avira, Norton, Avast, etc.. If you want a good imaging program you should look into Acronis, Macrium Reflect, Shadow Protect, and Kervier. I myself use Acronis, and Shadow Protect, and they are both very good options. Shadow Protect can be a little expensive, but i have never found anything better than SP. I have not used Macrium Reflect or Kervier, but I have heard nothing but good info about both so i'm sure they are both also very good options. You may also want to consider trying light virtualization apps like Returnil Virtual System, Deep Freeze from Faronics. This type of technology is very light on your system, and offers much better protection than standard AV products. I would recommend you try Shadow Defender which has been one of best light virtualization apps available if you can purchase a license some how for v1.1.0.325. It has never been compromised that i'm aware of on SATA or ATA drives. Nothing has ever been proven to bypass it so getting infected would be almost the same chances of winning the Powerball if you use a good AV or AE (antiexecutable) with it. That is considering if the user uses a little common since in their computer usage. SD does have an issue with Solid State Drives so if you use an SSD then don't use SD with it. Beware of the new version of Shadow Defender 1.1.0.331 since the developer has been MIA for over a year, and someone else has magically appeared out of the woodwork with a version that no one knows anything about. It has no change log, and no info has been given as to how this new version was produced. Even those running the SD site is in the dark. So i would recommend trying to get a license for 1.1.325 or .326. Sorry to go on a rant!
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Even I don't have that many :argh:
    Multi-engine scanners such as Hitman Pro are more useful imo.
     
  8. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    I agree with wat0114 completely!

    TechOutsider,
    If you are not using the Ultimate version I suggest using a Standard account with the Parental Controls built into Home Prem. Here is a thread about how to set it up. Also you may want to consider looking into Windows 7 backup and restore or another alternative if you already haven't done so.
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands

    Attached Files:

    • WD.gif
      WD.gif
      File size:
      27.3 KB
      Views:
      717
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, that is also very good advice gerardwil. He would be ok with that, but I believe everyone should use an imaging software for backup. Your advice plus the imaging software, and I think he would be set.
     
  11. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    627
    My parents are using only Prevx free, Panda USB-vaccine and LUA. On a PC of my friend free Pervx informed recently on a malware that had bypassed Avast (she did not use LUA, but now does).
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    just install a light free Antivirus such as Avira Avast or something else and you are good. Without AV i doubt
     
  13. BenMar522

    BenMar522 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Posts:
    67
    A nice light setup would be to add a free AV ex.(Avast! or MSE) and Windows 7 firewall. Also try Windows 7 backup and restore for your imaging. Has worked just fine for me. All via a LUA.

    BenMar
     
  14. BenMar522

    BenMar522 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Posts:
    67
    Thank you for the nice tip on SRP via parental controls. I was unaware of that. Will certainly give it a go. :thumb:

    BenMar
     
  15. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Thanks guys for the feedback. I do back up my files regularly using Windows Backup. I run as a standard user.

    I don't run Microsoft Security Essentials since it keeps throwing an message that Windows needs activation. Windows says I'm activated each time I check, so I got rid of MSE.

    What I would like to know is just how effective MBAM. I have never seen any conclusive tests.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it has a very high detention rate of malware of all kinds;)
     
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    MRG tested it against zero-days with great results.
     
  18. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549

    Wow! Thanks for sharing! I see that MBAM scores extremely well, even compared to full anti-malware suites!

    Any more tests? Or is that it? Either way - I'm sold - that was the best $25 dollars I spent on security :D.
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  20. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Your setup is good as long you keep safe browsing and common sense...:) I may suggest you to add Clear Cloud DNS in your setup.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2011
  21. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    :D

    I can't find the link for Clear Cloud DNA - can you provide one, please?

     
  22. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Sorry I misspell, its Clear Cloud DNS...:p
    http://clearclouddns.com/Setup/Windows/
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    got it?
     
  24. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Thank you, but will Clear Cloud slow down my system?

    And why does it need to install something? Shouldn't I just be able to type in the DNS server?

     
  25. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    Norton DNS has an installer to make it easy for users that are not technically savvy to set up the dns.

    but it can be done manually, as i'm sure Clearcloud can also do.

    DNS services like Clearcloud and Norton will not slowdown you system.
    the impact on your Internet experience should be unchanged.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.