Although I have over nine months left on my a-squared license I might go Avast!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ratchet, Feb 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    I think a-squared is great but their signature downloads take minutes on the desktop. My broadband is a pretty consistent 5mbps but their signature updates seem to take perhaps as much as a minute or more and during this period I can't do anything else on this old Pent4 with one gig of RAM. I dropped it for other A-V alternatives on the laptop because if you don't boot it for a couple of days it starts from scratch and installs "all" of the signatures every time. All quite annoying from an otherwise fine product!
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    The signature downloads (reloads) were the reason that I dumped A-Squared.
    I read that the massive signature reload is the Ikarus part of A-Squared.
    It's a pain regardless of connection speed!
     
  3. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    A shame too, as it made a good "stand-alone scanner" other than the update-issues...
     
  4. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Patience is a virtue.

    I use a-squared, don't mind waiting.
     
  5. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    I haven't had any issues with updates yet o_O
     
  6. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Avast is my favorite AV; I'm just trying to work out a couple issues I've been having.
     
  7. falkor

    falkor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Posts:
    205
    Wow . Never an issue here . Although I see you may not have a whole lot of power . But still . 5meg speed is a fast download speed and your computer should be able to handle it with little problem .o_O Send me the rest of your license . Lol .
     
  8. Blueshoes

    Blueshoes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Posts:
    220
    Avira free can take up to 10 -12 minutes to finally get hooked up and down load definitions. Even after their so called fix.
     
  9. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    It's true that Ikarus definitions slow down a-squared updates, but really having it to auto-update I never really notice the whole thing. Different thing if you use the free version...there you have to open a-squared and wait the definitions' download to finish...then for sure you notice the Ikarus slowdown. It's for sure much much better from Antivir free downloads speeds.
    IMHO Ikarus is a great engine and definitions set and really don't mind any slowdown since it's reallt added super value for a-squared.
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    I use A-Squared free, ok it needs a bit more two minutes to update, but it's not a problem. As others said here, Ikarus it's a great engine, I'm fully satisfied to use A-Squared. :)
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    And I like the fact that I don't need to keep this AV running in RAM, saving me resources and it doesn't slow everything down when I am using the PC.
     
  12. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I'm with you, don't matter a minute but knowing you're getting well protected :D
     
  13. biscuits

    biscuits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    111
    I've also experienced this reloads. 2 days ago I have to download 55 MB of Ikarus' (indicated in the update screen) signature files.
     
  14. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    974
    Location:
    Paris
    I'm using the A2 paid version on a not all that powerful laptop and I can honestly say that I've never been aware of program updates (except for the version 4 to version 5 upgrade).
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I have never noticed those signature reloads xD
    I'll keep an eye on them now :p
     
  16. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I also have a license for Vipre, but Avast 5 with only file shield and behaviour shield, is so light (CPU time extremely low) and effective that i have almost tears of joy in my eyes. :argh: Vipre is light, but this is even lighter :D I LOOOOVE the permanent cache. So little disk i/o reads. ANY AV should make its priority to implement a similar function. Scanning and rescanning the same file 100 times while it's unchanged is nowdays so obsolete.

    Avast Home being given for free is a STEAL.

    And the new GUI is also a huge improvement over v.4.

    Thank you Alwil! :thumb:
     
  17. 1timeuserrr

    1timeuserrr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Posts:
    43
    I'm using the paid version of A-Squared and never had a single problem! the updates are smooth and just once I had to download the whole database (50mb aprox.) eventhough I have 1MB it took just a few minutes :)

    But if your PIV freezes while updating... then I understand it must be annoying.
     
  18. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I had 18 months left on my subscription to F-Secure and switched to avast! 5. I have no regrets and I don't think you will either. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.