Allowing a Denied BHO by Spybot S&D

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Emoticon Man, Jun 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Emoticon Man

    Emoticon Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Salinas, CA, USA, Earth, Sol System
    After installing an IE toolbar, I accidently hit deny when Spybot S&D asked me if I wanted to allow the additional BHO. Short of uninstalling Spybot, is there a way to change the status of the toolbar from denied to allowed?
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Emoticon,

    Have you attempted to re-install the toolbar and let Spybot ask you again ?
    Which toolbar are you speaking of BTW ?
     
  3. Emoticon Man

    Emoticon Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Salinas, CA, USA, Earth, Sol System
    Yes, but I'm running SSD 1.3, which, unfortunately in this case, allows the user to Remember this decision, which means until I can get SSD to "forget" my decision, it won't ask me again. I've even tried uninstalling, shutting the computer down, turning the SDHelper and TeaTime off, shutting the computer down again, then re-installing and turning the computer off again, all, obviously, to no avail.
    And the toolbar is Dogpile, which, at least according to their website, contains no spyware.

     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Emoticon,

    When you say you uninstalled....did you mean Spybot or Dogpile ?

    By duplicating your problem I un-installed MSN toolbar and then attempted a re-install of the toolbar. When it got to the part concerning the toolbar BHO....I denied it via Spybot and the toolbar indeed did not work. I then un-installed the MSN toolbar and attempted a re-install. When it got to the part concerning the toolbar BHO....I allowed it via Spybot and the toolbar indeed worked.

    As you may know....when installing toolbars....a .dll file is usually associated with the BHO CLSID and Spybot unregisters the DLL file or doesn't let it register....whatever the case may be.

    Long way around the barn....attempt an un-install then a re-install of dogpile or register it's associated dll(Ultrabar.dll). Spybot then should allow the proper Toolbar entry in the reg file associated with Dog pile.

    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar....5E92F538-B50B-46C5-9C5F-C6EECED3F6C6
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2004
  5. Emoticon Man

    Emoticon Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Salinas, CA, USA, Earth, Sol System
    Dogpile

    Oddly enough, WinPatrol is showing the ultrabar.dll as being installed, it's showing up on HiJack This ("O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5E92F538-B50B-46C5-9C5F-C6EECED3F6C6} - C:\Program Files\DogpileToolbar\ultrabar.dll

    Detailed information on item O2:

    A BHO (Browser Helper Object) is a specially crafted program that integrates into IE, and has virtually unlimited access rights on your system. Though BHO's can be helpful (like the Google Toolbar), hijackers often use them for malicious purposes such as tracking your online behaviour, displaying popup ads etc."
    ), it's even showing up when I generate a SSD reprort through tools>view report ("{5E92F538-B50B-46C5-9C5F-C6EECED3F6C6} (Dogpile Toolbar)
    BHO name:
    CLSID name: Dogpile Toolbar
    Path: C:\Program Files\DogpileToolbar\
    Long name: ultrabar.dll
    Short name:
    Date (created): 6-6-04 2:10:20 PM
    Date (last access): 6-6-04 2:10:20 PM
    Date (last write): 5-12-04 5:47:18 PM
    Filesize: 435200
    Attributes: archive
    MD5: E2151945996525349BC734DC0E1742D5
    CRC32: D0A08B65
    Version: 0.1.0.0"
    )

    Despite all of this, no matter how much I try to toggle the view>toolbars>dogpile toolbar and move the toolbars around, it still won't show. Furthermore, the view>explorer bars>dogpile toolbar screen comes up blank as well.

    [EDIT]
    Did you use the "Remember this choice" option? Because this is where I think the problem begins.[/EDIT]

    [Second EDIT]BTW, the right click menu "search the web" option is working fine, but I allowed that change.[/Second EDIT]
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2004
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    For kicks and grins....have you attempted to re-register the ultrabar.dll file ?

    via Start\Run....type regsvr32.exe "C:\Program Files\DogpileToolbar\ultrabar.dll"
     
  7. Emoticon Man

    Emoticon Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Salinas, CA, USA, Earth, Sol System
    Hadn't tried that (didn't even know about, actually), but the result was:
    "DllRegisterServer in C:\Program Files\DogpileToolbar\ultrabar.dll failed.
    Return code was: 0x80020009"

    I have no clue how to decipher that. I'm starting to get the impression that my best bet is to uninstall SSD, but I'm not sure whether that would eliminate the block on the Dogpile Toolbar. o_O
     
  8. Learningmode

    Learningmode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    US/EU
    hey all, novice here! What if Spybot S&D only ALLOWS the change for the BHO? DENY CHANGE is greyed out.
    Any help is appreciated,
    Thanks,
    Learningmode
     
  9. Matrixz13

    Matrixz13 Guest

    Go into SpyBot, View, Switch to Advanced, TOOLS, BHO, adjust there!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.