Allow IPX/SPX protocol driver (NWLink.vxd)?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by pcb, Jul 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pcb

    pcb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    Please can anyone tell me whether it is safe to allow (in my Personal Firewall rules) the Windows IPX/SPX protocol driver (NWLink.vxd).

    I have 2 computers hooked up to an adsl router.

    Thanks for any help.

    K.
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Are you using it? If not, you should be fine in blocking it.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. pcb

    pcb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    Thnaks for your reply,CrazyM.

    I'm not calling it up/using it-I have no idea why it is wanting to access the net. It is however trying to do so fairly often.
    Do you know why it should be doing so?

    I am new to broadband, and networking, and since I am not setting up the adsl router's firewall (the instructions advise not to unless in the know) I am still using the Sygate firewall.

    Cheers,

    K.
     
  4. pcb

    pcb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    As soon as I pressed the submit button for the last post, NWLINK.vxd tried to access the net. I had it blocked, and it seemed to make no difference-the post was "processed".

    K.
     
  5. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    Those protocols are specific to Novell Netware, so unless you are running a Netware network at home (unlikely), you should remove the Netware protocol from the properties of your network card. Then it won't even be there to request connections via the firewall.
     
  6. pcb

    pcb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    trickyricky,

    Thanks for your reply.
    Yes, I have "Client for Netware Networks" in my network configuration. I'm sure that I took it out a while ago, and my adsl connection was interrupted, as I recall.
    I'll get rid of it again, & see what happens.


    Thanks again,

    K.
     
  7. pcb

    pcb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    Well, I have removed the Client for Netware Networks and the 2 IPX/SPX compatible protocols (which appear to be Microsoft, rather than Novell) that were in the configuration panel.
    Everything is running fine, touch wood.

    Thanks for that, trickyricky.

    K.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.