Airport Extreme Trouble

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by heydavid, Jul 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. heydavid

    heydavid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Is there something with my eset settings that would cause my airport extreme router to malfunction?
     
  2. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Not really, what kind or problems are you experiencing?
     
  3. heydavid

    heydavid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    All kinds of goofiness - I suppose the router must be broken, but I did wonder if it might be a firewall issue. I have two desktops connected to the router by ethernet. . .internet will only work on one machine at a time (if I unplug/replug the router, the other computer will work). Wireless isn't working either. The router isn't recognizing the DNS server/IP address, which is not remedied by renewing the IP or installing the router updates from apple.

    Hopefully they'll give me a replacement router and that will get me running again!
     
  4. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Have you plugged your internet connection in the LAN side instead of into the WAN side by accident? This kinda sounds like something like that :).
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Generally speaking, when I come across an issue as non-specific as that, I try to troubleshoot everything by installing the latest firmware on the router and resetting it to its default state, and installing the latest network drivers on the PCs and resetting their network connections to their default states. if that works, I begin changing settings one-at-a-time until I isolate the incompatible option.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.