AhnLab SiteGuard: Anyone using it?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sg09, Sep 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India


    1001209417984411.jpg

    Features
    http://global.ahnlab.com/en/site/product/productSubDetail.do?prod_type=CD&prod_class=C&prod_seq=9001

    Download
    hxxp://siteguard.filezaru.com/ASGMaster/asg_setup.exe

     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2010
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like a combination of Firewall, antivirus, and adblock features all thrown into one.
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Only works with Internet Explorer, not to mention the following:

    That much memory and HDD space for such software? Heck! I mean, in a system with 1 GB of memory, it will consume more than 1/4 of memory. It's insane.
     
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    That would make sense, considering the system requirements, which would be way too much for an application only checking links.
     
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Two of those features can easily be taken care of inside the browser without the huge overhead.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    It may be something to keep an eye on for the future. Maybe some day they will lower its memory usage. It would be worth wild if someone wanted to test it against some infected sites on a VM. That would be interesting.
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Hi guys,
    I guess some confusion is here. I am now trying it under RSS.
    1. It is not a suite. Its merely an addon like link scanner. But no search engine integration.
    2. It doesn't consume too much RAM or Space. See in the screenshots attached.
    3. Its for IE only, that's the sole problem with it. No startup item.


    2010-09-26_190648.jpg

    2010-09-26_190613.jpg

    2010-09-26_190022.jpg

    2010-09-26_190044.jpg

    2010-09-26_190057.jpg
     
  8. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Thank you for the screenshots.

    I was, indeed, finding odd the system requirements at the web site.

    It seems to be an interesting application.
     
  11. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I tested with some fresh exploit pages from MDL. But many were blocked by my layered security. Other exploits were not blocked. So I am not confident with this app.
    I made a mistake. It does show ratings in some web search results.
    It didn't block a Fake AV which is detected by AhnLab.

    2010-09-26_192858.jpg

    2010-09-26_192100.jpg

    2010-09-26_192116.jpg
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    seems like a cool program, wish it worked with firefox
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.