Agnitum Outpost Pro security question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by buckshee, Jun 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    I have Agnitum Outpost installed and I downloaded a load of tests from Test My PC Security
    http://www.testmypcsecurity.com/securitytests/atelier_firewall_tester.html

    To be honest I haven't even graduated to rookie status when it comes to firewalls. I installed AO in simple mode and didn't touch any of the settings

    When I do all the different firewall tests am I suppose to hit DENY when each of the firewall tests causes an AO prompt ? I assumed so, but I'm not sure.

    Also I don't like to have any more security software than I really need so do I still need Keyscrambler while using AO.
    I do use AVIRA premium AV with web protection so malware checking in AO is disabled

    I don't want to be paranoid and I don't go to questionable web sites so is there anything else I need to add to be secure


    Thanks
     
  2. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Yes and Maybe.

    People who use the Defense+ portion of Comodo tend to be a bit paranoid when it comes to oubound leaks. CLT is a tool to placate their fears. They can use it to tweak Defense+ to the point they score 340/340. Now they so go to bed at night and get a good night's sleep.:)
     
  4. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Perhaps someone would be kind enough to answer my original question - which has nothing to do with the Comodo !!!
     
  5. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    You should hit deny otherwise you are giving permission for the intrusion [in this case a test] to execute. The point of these leak tests is to see if they are detected by the firewall. If you get a popup then they are detected but if you allow it then, of course, it will count as a failure because it executed. If you get no popups and the test executes then the firewall failed to detect the leak test and it got through the defenses. That would be considered a real failure. A failure caused by allowing a popup would be human error.
     
  6. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Thanks Manny

    Do I still need Keyscrambler with AO ?
     
  7. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    I can't possibly say what you need.
     
  8. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    What I am asking is... Does AO negate the need for Keyscrambler. If in fact AO catches all keyloggers then isn't scrambler redundantl.
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    A question that is impossible to answer. No security can catch 100% of keyloggers out there especially if designed to evade specific products.

    AO can protect from keyloggers as other tools can. Up to you to decide if AO is enough or not or if keyscrabler is enough or not. Or if Zemana is enough or not or if Identity shield in WSA is enough or not or if Spyshelter is enough or not..... etc... Plenty of tools out there....

    As a general rule I would keep it simple and master well AO then you can decide if you want complementary tools to cover aspects not covered by AO. :)
     
  10. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Outpost is usually abbreviated as OP.

    I'm not sure if OP has been tested against ALL keyloggers so I really can't give you a definitive response. I would say that if you are afraid of keyloggers and Keyscrambler is not interfering with anything then keep it. Personally, I don't use any special anti-keylogger software. I don't feel it is necessary.

    You might want to get more opinions at the OP forum: http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/forum.php but ultimately this is a personal decision that you need to make.
     
  11. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    I don't "know" what you need either but you claim rookie status SO let me tell you what I have:

    Yes I have KeyScrambler and OP FW Pro a 2 way firewall.

    These tools work okay together but are very very different.

    The FW is intended to protect your setup from unwanted intrusions and the KS scrambles your key strokes as you enter passwords and account numbers. This is only matters IF a trojan has takenup residence in your computer and trying to send your private codes to a rouge web site.

    So you need to block trojans from moving in and thus you " need" a solid antivirus product to block them and or disable them.

    Go to the forums here for information on various AV products. Some are free others cost $.

    Hope that helps.
     
  12. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Thanks for the responses. I do have an antivirus (Avira Premium) and OP FW and Keyscrambler Professional and that's it. I don't want to be paranoid nor lax either. I know what a firwall does and I allow or block programs as I feel is appropriatte. I just didn't know if the firewall test programs needed to initially install and then they called on aother program or web site to do the test. Although I know what a firewall does I don't know how to make changes to them other than the allow/block so I just use the manufacturers settings. Anyway, enough said
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2012
  13. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    To learn how to optimize a fw product like OP PRO FW you need to learn how to tune it like a car.

    That takes time. effort and reading the user guide.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.