Aghh how do I restore from IDE to SATA

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by thepharcyde, Feb 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thepharcyde

    thepharcyde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    After much palava with my pc, which I have now sorted, I have invested into Acronis True Image, so I will no longer have to rebuild my pc, but like Norton Ghost, create a image of my drive, to my backup IDE H/d. I tried Norton Ghost, but because my main drive is SATA, I could not work it out, and gave up.

    But, now, I have created a image with Acronis, which is saved on my IDE drive. I had a quick play to restore my pc from this image going though the restore options. It tells, me that I have to reboot in order for it to rebuild.

    It then reboots, and then asks for the directory from which to restore the image in my case my 2nd hd on ide. But problem being is that my 2nd HD on IDE is not listed only floppy, cd rom and the the sata drive in which I want to restore too.

    Anyone know where I am going wrong?
     
  2. thepharcyde

    thepharcyde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    No one?!? It is the trial version of the software, but surely all drives should show?!?

    Also having to reboot and then select all the same options in Windows is poo, why not just reboot without trying to recover in Windows?
     
  3. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    If you haven't done so make a boot cd from within TI and boot from it, you may have to alter your bios settings to boot from a cd. Check if your hardrives are listed when booting from the cd
     
  4. thepharcyde

    thepharcyde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Yeah I can boot from CD, how do I create a TI boot disc?
     
  5. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Start TI in windows, In the top left pane is a option "Create Bootable Rescue Media" click it and follow the prompts
     
  6. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    I have tried 3 times to restore to a SATA drive and all 3 times
    have been failures. Acronis 9.0 says it restored successfully, but when I
    boot the machine to the resttored drive I get the following message:

    "Windows could not start because of a computer hardware configuration problem.

    Could not read from selected boot disk. Check boot path and selected hardware.

    Please check the windows documentation about hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manuals for additional information."


    I believe there is a bug in Acronis that does not restore SATA drives properly.

    Godd luck. If you get it to work, let me know.
     
  7. rbmorse

    rbmorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Albuquerque New Mexico USA
    When you create the image, did you select the entire drive or partition or the file and folder backup option? You want to choose entire drive or partition.

    If you use the wizard, the next screen after you make that selection will present a list of your installed hard drives and the recognized partitions on each drive. You have to put a check mark in the selection box for the drive as well as the desired partitions on that drive if you wish to backup/restore the boot sector in addition to the data partition(s).

    If you don't do this the Acronis image will not include the disk's boot sector and other system required files (because you told it not to) but when you restore, Windows will not be able to find those system files which it needs to boot. You get the error message you report.

    Another potential cause for this error is the drive you want to boot from is not properly listed in the BIOS setting that determines the boot device.
     
  8. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    All check boxes were checked.

    The BIOS was set to boot from the restored device.
     
  9. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello thepharcyde,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to create Bootable Rescue CD in section 10.2 of Acronis True Image 9.0 User's Guide.

    If the problem still persists with Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 and your IDE hard drive still can not be recognized then please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If that does not help then please also try connecting this hard drive to another IDE channel, if possible of course.

    If the problem still persists then please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.