Again problems with immunization after install of the new version of Spybot

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by skkk, Jul 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skkk

    skkk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    It seems that there is again problem with immunization of Firefox on Windows 98 based systems after upgrading from Spybot 1.5.2 to Spybot 1.6. SpywareBlaster freezes on start when checking for protection of Firefox. This problem does not occur on Windows XP, only on Windows 98. Maybe something should be changed in the next version 4.2 of SpywareBlaster. In the past there was a similar problem with incompatability between Spybot 1.5 and SpywareBlaster 3.5.1 which was solved with the launch of version 4.0.
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    I'm afraid I cannot reproduce this issue. Everything works fine here with that combinations of programs + OS. :doubt:

    To help us troubleshoot the cause, please try the following:

    1.) Open My Computer / Windows Explorer.
    2.) Browse to C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxxxxx.default\
    (where "xxxxxxxx" is a random series of letters and numbers)

    And then please let us know the answers to the following questions:

    1.) Is there a file named "hostperm" or "hostperm.1"?
    2.) Is there a file named "permissions" or "permissions.sqlite"?

    If yes to either of the above, please send a copy of each file to bugreports@javacoolsoftware.com . In your e-mail, please also include:
    -A link to this thread
    -Your username on these forums

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  3. skkk

    skkk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I answer the questions:
    1) The only present file is "hostperm.1" and I'll send it to you
    2) There are no files "permissions" or "permissions.sqlite"

    The problems exists only when Mozilla Firefox 2 is immunized also by Spybot 1.6. When I unimmunize it in Spybot then SpywareBlaster 4.1 starts normally and it is not freezing.
     
  4. borisdiaw

    borisdiaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    you're not alone skkk. I use Win ME and i'm having the same problem re the freeze. I upgraded from spybot 1.3 to 1.6 because 1.3 will not update anymore after july 2008.
     
  5. borisdiaw

    borisdiaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    yes, i use firefox 2 (because win ME is incompatible with Firefox 3) and i did exactly the same thing you did. remove spybot immunization first, then run spywareblaster to update the definitions. once it's updated, i-reimmunize with spybot 1.6.
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi everyone,

    I can reproduce a delay on Windows 98/ME, but not an indefinite freeze. Depending on the speed of your machine, it may take a little while longer to verify Firefox protection.

    However I'd like to note a solution.

    Recommended Workaround: (for Windows 98/ME users with Firefox + Spybot)

    Mozilla Firefox 2+, by default, blocks pop-ups and installations for all sites (except those you manually allow) - the "Popups" and "Installations" protection that Spybot provides is redundant and really not necessary.

    The best way to speed up *everything* on slower machines running Windows 98/ME (including SpywareBlaster and Firefox itself) is to selectively undo just the "Popups" and "Installations" immunization for Firefox in Spybot. This can be accomplished by:

    1.) Opening Spybot S & D and browsing to the "Immunize" section. (Please wait for it to load completely.)
    2.) Checking *only* the "(Popups)" and "(Installations)" lines for any Firefox profiles. (Ensure everything else is unchecked, because we will only be removing immunization for those entries.)
    3.) Clicking the "Undo" button. (This may take a little while.)

    Afterwards, you can check everything *except* the "Installations" and "Popups" lines, so you can immunize everything else in Spybot in the future.

    This will greatly reduce the size of the hostperm.1 file that Firefox 2 uses, and should speed up both SpywareBlaster and Firefox without reducing your security.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  7. borisdiaw

    borisdiaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    yeah, but i sometimes use IE too. if i disabled spybot 1.6's "popups" and "installations", not only will it remove the immunizations from firefox, but also in IE as well.
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    The "Popups" and "Installations" protections, which are preceded by the Firefox icon in the Spybot S & D Immunize list, only apply to Firefox (and other Gecko-based browsers like Seamonkey and Flock).

    They do not apply to Internet Explorer in any way.

    The instructions above describe checking *only* those items because Spybot S & D only "Undo"s protection for checked items in the list. After you undo those particular items, you can re-check everything in the list (and uncheck those two items) and protect everything else if you wish - without reducing your security for Firefox or any other browsers (as mentioned in my post above).

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  9. borisdiaw

    borisdiaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    i initially did not notice any firefox or explorer icon because the images they represent were all "broken" or distorted. (i don't know if skkk's spybot on win 98 has messed up icons too.) i assume xp and vista users are not seeing any "broken" icon images.

    but yes, spyware blaster is running faster again after i disabled popups and installations. thanks javacool.
     
  10. wyrmrider

    wyrmrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    california
    I have the W98SE Spybot 1.6 Spywaeblaster with both IE6 and Firefox
    I used to have the slow problem but not recently
    I'll check again if I update to the new Firefox
    thanks for the tip just in case

    (1 mb memory with chacheman tweeks I wonder if that helps?)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.