Again: Acronis Support=EPIC FAIL!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CAOgdin, Jun 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Is Acronis no longer providing Knowledge Base Access?

    1. I login, then go to http://www.acronis.com/support/index.html
    2. I click "Scheduled Tasks Do Not Run" (or other links on that page)
    3. That link takes me to http://www.acronis.com/support/kb/articles/261
    4. My browser shows: "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"
    5. I copy the link to Firefox (http://www.acronis.com/support/kb/articles/261)
    6. Apparently, that URL is rerouted to http://kb.acronis.com/content/1518
    7. Firefox shows: Network Timeout
    The server at kb.acronis.com is taking too long to respond

    Where/how does one get access to the Knowledge Base?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    i tried it too and it failed. it could simply be a temporary problem with the server
     
  3. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Now the Drupal site is accessible, but it says "Site off-line
    The site is currently not available due to technical problems. Please try again later. Thank you for your understanding." Incidentally, is resolves to editor.acronis.ru

    For a putative worldwide organization that purports to support their customers and lets this kind of stuff happen, I have NO understanding.

    (My research suggests that they're hosting their own DNS server, in Russia as well, which is why I couldn't reach the site earlier. DNSreport shows:
    ERROR: Your nameservers report glue that is different from what the parent servers report. This will cause DNS servers to get confused; some may go to the IP provided by the parent servers, while others may get to the ones provided by your authoritative DNS servers. Problem record(s) are:

    ns3.acronis.com.:
    Parent server (l.gtld-servers.net) says A record is 72.3.166.161, but
    authoritative DNS server (91.195.23.4) says it is 72.3.166.171
    ns3.acronis.com.:
    Parent server (l.gtld-servers.net) says A record is 72.3.166.161, but
    authoritative DNS server (94.198.55.129) says it is 72.3.166.171
    )

    These are rank-novice, amateur errors, folks. Who's managing your kb.acronis.com (aka editor.acronis.ru) server?
     
  4. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Sounds like Acronis is not just having a bad day but a bad month.

    I expect the servers will come back on line.

    I hear your pain.:)
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Or at the worse, they've finally closed shop. ;) Well it's been good "knowing" you guys.
     
  6. pot2pan

    pot2pan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    54
    Acronis seems to have had a good product in the past with TI 10. They must have fired a lot of good people then, must have had a good dose of "productivity enhancing" re-structuring. The people at the coal-face cannot cope anymore.
    After two years of producing rubbish, the balance sheet is probably starting to take a hit, in particular now that some real competition exists out there for imaging software.
    They could either re-invest and fix 2009 and successor, or go down the gurgler, but it may be too late to re-invest.
     
  7. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    kb.acronis.com is back up, this morning.

    pot2pan: Good assessment; conforms to my own opinion, too. The business is now run for executive compensation, no longer for satisfing customers.
     
  8. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    POT2PAN -Yes good summary of the state of play.

    I wonder if the remnants of Acronis Support are still in Russia or whether they are now based in India as one posting in the forums suggested.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jehosophat,

    Thank you for taking time to contact us.

    Acronis technical support is partially located in Russia (2nd level and corporate support) and partially is located in India (1st level support).

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.