AE Trial

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jrmhng, Sep 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Guys,

    I'm trying to get a trial for AE. When AE 3 was first released I installed it but it had a conflict with FF3 so I uninstalled it. I want to try it again but when I installed the latest version it says that the trial has expired. Sales said thay cant provide me with a trial key. Anyone have any ideas on how I could try it?

    Cheers
    Jeremy
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    My last communication with Faronics was two months ago when I called them twice and sent them emails regarding problems with version 3 and firefox 3.0
    I also told them of conflicts of Superantispyware with both versions of AE.
    They gave me assurances they would look into the problems. I haven't heard a peep from them since.
     
  3. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Unless you have a backup of your system of before you first installed AE I know of no other way to try it again.
     
  4. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Same here, they assured me that when the Firefox problem is solved, they will inform me. This is poor form.

    Well that is just stupid. If they can't make it easy for people to try, they are going to lose sales. They have lost mine.
     
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If you have a windows install disk you could create a windows virtual machine with virtualbox and then run AE inside that. Its a little bit of work but the only option i know of apart from doing a fresh windows install on your computer.
     
  6. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the suggestions guys. The problem is that this makes the hurdle to implementation too high. I won't be trying or buying AE unless I just happen to get a new computer.
     
  7. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It's a great shame that several of us seekm to have had some issues with vendor.
    I think this is a good implementation of this concept
    (always impressed by Rmus's images :) )

    I cant recall but I had some issue with the trial and it just got too hard to fiddle with.
    Shame really
     
  8. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Maybe they just dont care about the consumer market. Unless they are going to sell many licenses, they just can't be f**ked making an effort. Poor form.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.