AE doesn't like my forecastfox extension...

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by HURST, Jun 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Hi
    Has anyone using AE and forecastfox extension for firefox experienced this?
    (Erik?)

    When I open Firefox, weather info loads as usual:

    ff&ae1.JPG

    When I choose to reload (or after a while, when it reloads by itself), I get the pop up, but the info at the bottom bar never refreshes...it just stays so until I restart firefox.

    ff&ae2.JPG

    Since this never happened before I install AE, I decided ti try and disabled AE, choose to refresh and the info appeared on the bar:

    ff&ae3.JPG

    Just to be sure, I re-enabled AE and reloaded weather info, same problem as before:

    ff&ae7.JPG
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm running the extension Forecastfox along with AE on HIGH, only the "Delete Prevention" is unmarked and it runs very well, including the refreshing of weather data at regular times.
    Did you split Firefox over two partitions, system and data ?
     
  3. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    No, Firefox is not splitted. All in the system partition.
    AE is set on HIGH, with network and delete prevention enabled, copy prevention disabled.
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    My Firefox is also installed completely in the system partition, so this can't be the problem. AE isn't the problem either.
    I tried the same function "Reload Weather Data" of Forecastfox and it refreshed the weather data, so that works also properly.

    The only thing I can think of is that the extension Forecastfox, isn't upgraded.
    I run Forecastfox v0.9.6 along with Firefox v2.0.0.14.
    If that doesn't help, I'm afraid I can't you help any further. :)

    Keep also in mind that when you upgrade Firefox, that AE must be disabled or it can screw up your Firefox.
    All my automatic updatings are disabled in my frozen system. AE is good, but a real pain sometimes.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
  5. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Same versions here...
    well, I guess I'm gonna have to live with that...
    Thanks anyways for your help:)
     
  6. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Update:

    I could fix it by disabling "delete prevention". Now it works fine.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I will enable delete prevention and see if it makes a difference. :D

    EDIT:
    Yes, it makes a difference, I enabled "delete prevention" and Forecastfox didn't work anymore.
    So I disabled "delete prevention" and Forecastfox was working properly. I have to remember this one to help the next user with such a problem. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.