Advice re using Host File protection - do I need it?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bahjan, Jun 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bahjan

bahjan Registered Member

Hi,

I am a complete newbie regarding Host file protection. I have been looking at MVPS Hosts for an extra layer of protection. My question is this - do I need it, and is MVPS better or equivient to Winpartrol (which I am considering using) or Spybot immunisation?

Here's what I have installed antispyware wise at the at the moment:
    SpywareBlaster
    Superantispyware
    A-Squared Free

I also use Firefox 2.0 with Site Advisor and Roboform Free.

I appear to have no host file on my Windows 98se at the moment. I like the idea that MVPS might speed loading of some sites - firefox seems a bit sluggish on my machine - though given the advantages over IE 6.1, I am willing to be patient. Is MVPS Hosts only useful to users of IE?

2. LoneWolf

LoneWolf Registered Member

Winpatrol would be a nice addition to your setup IMO. I have the plus version(Paid and worth every penny,realtime) but the free version is also very nice to have.(polling) Still both versions have some very nice features.

3. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

Host File protection acts by diverting you away from potentially dangerous sites. If you attempt to visit such a site you will be unable to go there, so long as that site is listed in your Hosts file of course. There's a good tutorial on the Hosts file here:-

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial51.html

The type of immunization you get with Spybot/SpywareBlaster is rather different, it simply places a long list of known bad sites in the 'Restricted' zone of IE. This means you can go to the bad sites but there is little they can do to harm you since dangerous functions (scripting, java, Active X etc) are not permitted for sites in the Restricted zone.