Advice on my current setup

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by drone, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drone

drone Registered Member

It's been a long time since my last visit here; so, being a bit impractical reading all the posts from the past years, I'd like to take a new start asking for an advice on my current security setup.

Assessment (needs):
    I need to secure my home PC, used by me and my family (wife and two daughters learning how to use a PC)

I mainly use Free and Open Source Software; my only paid app is MS Office 2010 (I need it sometimes for my paid work!)
    I view myself as a tech-savvy person (I'm an IT Project Manager).
    I evangelized my family members so they don't download software or click around
    I don't ever install crackz, warez ans so on

General setup:
    My home network is behind a Netgear DG834DG router with SPI firewall, UPnP disables, set to Norton DNS (security + pr0n + family).
    My desktop PC has an SSD (dual boot Win + Linux), a separate storage hard drive for data, an external hard drive for backups

Linux setup:
    Debian stable, security updates enabled
    Browsers: Iceweasel (me), Chromium (family)
    only installing SW from official repositories

Windows setup:
    Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64 bit)
    Standard User Account
    UAC on max
    Windows Update on auto
    Windows Firewall
    Microsoft Security Essentials (real time)
    Hitman Pro (free version, on demand)
    Hitman Pro.Alert
    Virus Total uploader
    Browsers: Firefox (me), Google Chrome (family)
    default browser set to IE11 64-bit, protected mode, adblock plus, flash for IE not installed
    Java not needed, so not installed
    Secunia PSI

Browser hardening in both systems:

Firefox / Iceweasel:
    do not save History
    do not accept third party cookies
    NoScript
    Adblock Plus (easylist+easyprivacy+MDL)
    VT checher
    Self-destructing cookies

Chrome / Chromium: