Advice on bypassing low ink warning

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Palancar, Sep 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Palancar

Palancar Registered Member

Well I am off on the learning curve! I have been using Zorin (Ubuntu) for a day or so now. Things are progressing pretty well for an absolute newbie. Out of the box Ubuntu 12.04 (Zorin 6.4 LTS) is running the hardware on my laptop amazingly well. Its faster and smoother than Win 7 64. I am still building and learning so I KNOW I have a bunch to learn.

I just ran into my first snag of significance. My printer has two ink cartridges. Color and Black. For years I have been running Black Only and have no need for color at home. On windows I simply instruct the OS to ignore the low ink warning and my printer (Lexmark) works great in Black Only. Its a basic 100 dollar all in one. If I have to replace it I may consider that, but I prefer to simply use it on occasion in Black Only if possible. This is a work leftover and all I really need is a black printer and not the fax, copy, etc.....

Can someone help me with ideas as to how (if possible) to configure my Unbuntu OS to ignore the printer low ink warning? I am pretty sure the driver "sees" the printer correctly because it found Lexmark and I can see the low ink warning flag in the printer configuration box of Zorin. If I bring up the printer it clearly show the printer is reporting "low ink". What can I do about it other than buying color ink or trashing the printer? Options?

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

See if your ink cartridge has a sensor that you can cover. This trick works well for Brother printer:

http://www.fixyourownprinter.com/forums/laser/39806

If you have no such luck with your printer, I would consider finding a compatible 3rd-party cartridge instead.

The more long-term solution would be buying a monochrome laser printer, particularly since you only need black.

3. Palancar