Adobe Reader/Acrobat JavaScript Method Handling Vulnerability

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by ronjor, Jun 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,286
    Location:
    Texas
    Secunia
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    This are the times when I'm proud that I use FoxIT Reader :D
     
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Good old javascript in PDF files. I've turned them off on my adobe reader.
     
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,153
    Please tell me how you did that . :)
     
  5. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,248
    Location:
    USA
    Start Reader, go to Edit > Preferences, and uncheck the box.

    BTW, my version of Reader has been fully updated/patched (or whatever) yet Secunia is still telling me it isn't. Sure enough, I looked at the executable and, rather than 8.1.2, it's showing up as version 8.1.0.137......hence the discrepancy. Anyone else experiencing this anomaly?
     
  6. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I also get v8.1.0.137 in the main exe. I would guess this is what Adobe intended though.
     
  7. crofty

    crofty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
  8. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    I use Foxit reader too! much faster than Adobe
     
  9. tlu

    tlu Guest

    I agree, but Foxit also had some security leaks recently. Thus, the moral of the story is: Always keep your apps updated by using Secunia Personal Advisor, Sumo or Updatestar.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2008
  10. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,248
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, thanks; I got the same results after installing and running PSI. So, it looks like the problem is limited to Secunia's online scan.
     
  11. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Looks like the Adobe Acrobat 9.0 line is out...But the reader is still at 8.1.2..
     
  12. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,153
    Thank you :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.