Adobe Reader/Acrobat JavaScript Method Handling Vulnerability

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by ronjor, Jun 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Secunia
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    This are the times when I'm proud that I use FoxIT Reader :D
     
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Good old javascript in PDF files. I've turned them off on my adobe reader.
     
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Please tell me how you did that . :)
     
  5. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Start Reader, go to Edit > Preferences, and uncheck the box.

    BTW, my version of Reader has been fully updated/patched (or whatever) yet Secunia is still telling me it isn't. Sure enough, I looked at the executable and, rather than 8.1.2, it's showing up as version 8.1.0.137......hence the discrepancy. Anyone else experiencing this anomaly?
     
  6. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I also get v8.1.0.137 in the main exe. I would guess this is what Adobe intended though.
     
  7. crofty

    crofty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Australia
  8. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    I use Foxit reader too! much faster than Adobe
     
  9. tlu

    tlu Guest

    I agree, but Foxit also had some security leaks recently. Thus, the moral of the story is: Always keep your apps updated by using Secunia Personal Advisor, Sumo or Updatestar.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2008
  10. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, thanks; I got the same results after installing and running PSI. So, it looks like the problem is limited to Secunia's online scan.
     
  11. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Looks like the Adobe Acrobat 9.0 line is out...But the reader is still at 8.1.2..
     
  12. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Thank you :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.