Adobe Flash Player 11.3.300.257

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Jun 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Re: Adobe Flash Player 11.3.3000.257

    Why is the version in this thread title called 11.3.3000.257 while it is version 11.3.300.257 ?
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,680
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Jan, what's a zero among friends. ;) Corrected.
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Hey JR, no problem at all among friends!!! *puppy* Not even about a zero :D
    Thanks for fixing it :thumb:
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,680
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Jan, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  5. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,385
    Location:
    Triassic
    Re: Adobe Flash Player 11.3.3000.257

    Tnx Bo, this was very confusing. I appreciate your response.
    I have not been prompted to install Flash Player ACTIVE-X or Shockwave, so I guess I do not need it. I do not use IE9, but I do have Windows Live Mail. Looks as though it does not call for Flash Player Active-X, so I will leave things as is. I definitely do not have Shockwave installed. Tnx for the advise ... I will not be installing it either.
     
  6. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    I just noticed that in about:crashes there's a whole lot of them since June 8, thanks to Flash Player. These must be silent crashes because Fx works okay. I tried to add ProtectedMode=0 in the mms.cfg file using Notepad but it won't let me change/add it. DUH! What am I doing wrong? Never had to use Notepad to change a file so am a complete noob what that is concerned.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Run notepad as an administrator.
     
  8. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Thanks! Is it safe to always run notepad as an administrator? I would like to know that before I make changes.
     
  9. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    No, it isn't safe to always run it as administrator. Just run it this once.
     
  10. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Thanks Hungry Man! So if I rightclick notepad and give it administrative rights will this action give permanent admin rights to notepad or just this once when adding ProtectedMode=0 to the mms.cfg file? TIA
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    If you run it as admin it'll just do it this one time.
     
  12. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Thank you Hungry Man for helping me. :thumb: However, I could not get it to work okay. Must be doing something wrong here. I'm mostly self taught and just have Win 7 for a short while. I didn't have any problems going into notepad on XP though to change things. Perhaps I better leave it the way it is and hope that Fx or Adobe FP will correct it soon. Struggling with the administrative thingy. :oops:
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,680
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    niki, what Hungry Man has suggested is:

    Find your Notepad, and right click it, selecting Run as administrator. This action will give you access to change the mms.cfg file.

    Another item to keep in mind is selecting All files (*.*), while in Notepad, so you can see the mms.cfg file. Just FYI.
     
  14. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Thank you JRViejo. Sorry to take so long to respond. I just couldn't get it to work. I called Dell for help this morning and they fixed it for me since I have Pro support from them. The IT Tech couldn't do it either the way it was recommended. Turns out the mms.cfg file had to be copied to the desktop to allow the additional line to be added in and to be copied back - replaced - into the Macromed/Flash folder. The IT Tech told me I can call back if same file needs to be reverted back again to it's previous state. Hopefully the above explanation will help someone else with the same problem.
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,680
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    niki, you're welcome! Thanks for posting your Dell workaround. Take care.
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,680
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,291
    Location:
    USA
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,680
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    xxJackxx, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  19. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    The fix seems to be for crash on quit. My Flash worked fine but I saw numerous silent crashes in Firefox Crash Reports since Flash was updated to the latest version. To stop these silent crashes the ProtectedMode=0 in mms.cfg in Flash was added. That worked. After Fx latest 13.0.1 update I deleted the 3rd line in Flash, went to youtube and quit Firefox. Checked the Firefox Pending and Submitted Crash Reports and none were added. So far so good. Will keep an eye on it though.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.