Admin vs Standard User Accounts in Vista

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Hangetsu, Feb 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    Hi all,

    I posted a similar question on DSLReports, but I'm getting conflicting answers. I'm hoping I could pick a few of your brains here instead.

    My understanding is that Administrator accounts in Vista operate as Standard User accounts until asked to do something with elevated privileges (like install an application). If that's the case, is there still a NEED security-wise to create a separate Standard User account and run using that (other than maybe as a best-practices sort of process)?

    Note: This Vista machine is used only by me, so there's no situation where one of my kids might log on as the Admin account.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I´ve been asking my self that too. Up to now I´ve been using the limited account instead of a "admin" account with UAC.
    As far as I can see the only difference is that you have to enter the password in the limited account whilst in UAC you just accept or deny the prompt.
    I have changed my account type back to "admin" It got a bit tedious to enter the password all the time (I have some monitoring software that requires elevated right in order to report correctly)

    Here´s a article that explains UAC a little bit more.
     
  3. DevilFrank

    DevilFrank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Posts:
    108
    @Hangetsu,

    if I read your posts at DSLReports and here correctly, you use a 64-Bit Vista. I think you don´t need a limited user account. The standard user account is using admin-rights per default and will be protected per UAC. Stay with this, your Live OneCare, Windows-Defender and DEP. I did set up my Ultimate64 similar and I´m happy with this.
     
  4. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    I would, except OneCare has a bug/feature where it is resetting certain Internet Explorer settings back to default - Leaving it insecure.

    I'm trialling the Symantec Endpoint Protection 11 product right now, and its working pretty well - I may pick up a couple copies.
     
  5. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    SEP 11 felt a little heavy on my system. I didn't mind the longer boot up time but the overall feel was a little sluggish to me.

    Here is a little present if you decide to keep it :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
  7. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    This link was excellent, thank you - It explains UAC and its place in Vista's security perfectly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.