adjust context menu remotely

Discussion in 'ESET Server & Remote Administrator' started by karlisi, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. karlisi

    karlisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Latvia
    Default command for ESET products in Windows Explorer context menu is 'Scan with ESET...'. Not all users are so smart, to clean viruses found by this default scan, I can see it in ERAS logs. One reason they don't choose scan with cleaning, ESET hides this command under very uninformative submenu called 'Advanced options'. People even not recognize this as related to ESET products.

    To help them, I wanted to change default command to 'Clean with ESET...' using ERAS. This old thread says, it is not possible. Is it still impossible?
     
  2. DrewD

    DrewD Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    Unfortunately it does not appear that you can directly configure the antivirus client's Context Menu options directly, from within ESET Remote Administrator.

    You can absolutely enable, and configure the Context Menu options from within the ESET Endpoint Antivirus, and ESET Endpoint Security clients.

    Once you have configured the Context Menu options for an antivirus client, you can then export the configuration, as an XML file to use to configure other clients:

    How do I export a configuration to an .xml file to help ESET Customer Care resolve my issue? (Business Users)

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2691

    Here is how to configure the Context Menu options from within the ESET antivirus client:

    1.Open ESET Smart Security or ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

    2.Press the F5 key to open the Advanced Setup window

    3.Expand User interface and click Context menu.

    4.Select the check box next to Integrate into the context menu. Click OK to save your changes.

    After enabling the Context Menu Options, You will now have four options:

    Full (scan first) – Activates all context menu options; the main menu will display the Scan with ESET Endpoint Antivirus option.

    Full (clean first) – Activates all context menu options; the main menu will display the Clean with ESET Endpoint Antivirus option.

    Only scan – Only the Scan with ESET Endpoint Antivirus option will be displayed in the context menu.

    Only clean – Only the Clean with ESET Endpoint Antivirus option will be displayed in the context menu.
     
  3. karlisi

    karlisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Latvia
    I know how to transfer settings using XML. I need to configure about 750 clients, they are on different sites, different places, no AD, no other central management system. Manually import scripts is not the option, cannot rely on users, because typically they are not local administrators. The only available management system for all these computers is ERAS.
     
  4. DrewD

    DrewD Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    Let us know if the following steps work for you:

    Once you have configured the Context Menu options for an antivirus client, you can then export the configuration, as an XML file and try to use it within an ERA configuration task to a test computer, and after the task is delivered, restart the test computer, and then verify whether the Context Menu options settings were transferred to the test computer:

    Here is an ESET KB article that explains how to seup an ERA Configuration Task.

    How do I push out .xml configurations to client computers on the network?

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2204
     
  5. karlisi

    karlisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Latvia
    No, context menu settings are not transfered using ERAS configuration task. If I import settings manually, using the same xml file, they are transferred.
     
  6. karlisi

    karlisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Latvia
    If you compare two XML files, one exported from local computer's ESET antivirus, other exported from ERAS configuration for same workstation, you will see difference in file structure.

    Local XML file looks like this

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <ESET>
     <SECTION ID="1000105">
      <SETTINGS>
       <SCANNERS>
        ...
       </SCANNERS>
       <ANTISPAM>
        ...
       </ANTISPAM>
       <PLUGINS>
        ...
       </PLUGINS>
       <CLIENT>
        ...
       </CLIENT>
       <SHELLEXT>
        ...
       </SHELLEXT>
      </SETTINGS>
     </SECTION>
    </ESET>
    In XML exported from ERAS the SHELLEXT section is missing, this is why ERAS can't cofigure context menu.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.