Adguard for Android

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by avatar, Nov 26, 2014.

  1. haakon

    haakon Guest

    @ avatar

    Nexus 7 2013 (razor/flo) rooted - 4.4.4 - Adguard 2.0.52 Trial

    I have been using Grey Shirts NoRoot Firewall for about two years and I've got zillions of rules aimed at blocking connectivity to ad networks while watching for and blocking unwanted connectivity to suspicious servers on oddball ports. I've been pretty successful in quieting the ads, but some still get through and it's getting harder to get an app to work with too much blocking. Some even got stall at the splash screen if they can't connect to the likes of say, google's 174.125.224.* or adnexus.net. Some connect to so much crap, it's impossible to figure out what to block and I just end up giving access to *:80 and *.443. The ad blocking servers at Alternate DNS helps a lot. Even so Adguard 2.0 got my interest mostly by reputation and in the hopes of delivering me from the war on droid ads. Something to set-and-forget.

    Anyhow, I'm seriously considering a purchase, but...

    With Adguard set as Proxy, when running NoRoot, the Access Log shows most connectivity via Adguard and not the apps themselves (which makes sense, I suppose) but the NoRoot rules are ignored, i.e. apps set as Deny any access are allowed any access.
    • Am I doing something wrong with the Adguard/NoRoot combo? Or does Adguard render NoRoot unpractical? Not a deal breaker; just curious.

    Not unexpected, I don't notice any difference in operation when I configure the proxy as Manual or Automatic.
    With Proxy setup mode as Automatic, Proxy is None & grey 8080 in Wi-Fi Settings Modify network.
    Setup Proxy as Manual and then change to Auto, Proxy is still Manual, 127.0.0.1 & 8080 in Wi-Fi Settings Modify network.
    • Toggling Proxy Auto and Manual has no effect on the Wi-Fi settings for the proxy?

    • Filter DNS requests enabled - that's a hosts file?

    • What gets updated as reported by "Last Updated" in the main screen?

    VPN works great, BTW.

    Thank you for the trial version and your support.
     
  2. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    That's the main reason why we have introduced our own Firewall module in AG 2.0.
    It's impossible to use AG along with any other Firewall because for the firewall all traffic seems to be originated from Adguard.

    In "Auto" mode traffic is redirected with "iptables" utility (which is why we need root).
    With Manual mode you'll need to set proxy settings manually, we can't change it.

    Maybe when you have switched to Manual, traffic was already redirected by iptables?
    If so then it looks like a bug to me, we should have disabled iptables redirect.

    It's a bit better than hosts file.

    When DNS filtering is enabled we intercept DNS requests and return special response for blocked domains.
    The thing is that our respone has 1 hour TTL. It means that for 1 hour there won't be any more DNS requests for that blocked domain.

    It is last time AG was checking filters updates and license status.
     
  3. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Adguard for Android 2.0 has arrived!

    Changelog:

    More details about these changes in our blog:
    https://blog.adguard.com/en/adguard-android/adguard-for-android-2-0.html
     
  4. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Updated .52 to .60 and that to .62 with no issues. And I just plugged in my one-year license. I'll be joining your forum and post up any concerns or issues that. Thanks again for the trial.
     
  5. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Time for one more major update: version 2.1.177!

    Full changelog:

    https://github.com/AdguardTeam/AdguardForAndroid/releases/tag/2.1.177

    Short changelog:
    And one more important thing that happened today: Adguard is now available on Amazon Appstore. There is an important difference between standalone version and the one from the Amazon Appstore. Unlike AG license keys, Amazon subscription covers all devices with the amazon account used to purchase.
     
  6. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I see that Adguard for Android does not work with Wi-FI.
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    Works well on wifi for me
     
  8. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    Confirmed. No problems here.
     
  9. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Could you please post more details about this?

    1. Adguard version?
    2. Filtering mode? Proxy or VPN?
    3. If filtering mode is proxy, is it manual or auto?
     
  10. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I read in the Adguard for Android Faq's that it did not work on wi-fi.
     
  11. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Hm, where exactly? It works for both wi-fi and 3g
     
  12. haakon

    haakon Guest

    In his head.

    2.1.77 updated effortlessly and quite nicely from 2.0.62 on my Nexus 2013 tablet. On WiFi. :eek:
     
  13. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Next week we'll release a patch for 2.1, lots of improvements in TCP connections handling.

    Also we've decided to change our plans and focus on HTTPS filtering prior to all other issues and feature requests. It seems that blocking youtube ads is the most wanted feature now.
     
  14. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I guess you would know. I must have read that about another app. Does AFA work with HTTPS.
     
  15. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I have 78 days left on AFW so i upgraded my lic to include AFA. My credit card was charged but i never got a email for the new lic. I emailed support and they sent me a key that was different than what i had for AFW. Now i have two different keys that i use for AFW and AFA.
     
  16. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    What i read in the AFA Faq's was...Why wi-fi and usb tethering do not work with Adguard?
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes it is lol
     
  18. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Limited support for now. Enough for blocking popular ad networks, but not enough for blocking youtube ads.

    Could you please post here the ticket ID? I'll take a look.

    That is Android's restriction: it is restricted to use both tethering/hotspot mode and VPN. Android devs tell that this is done for security purposes, but for me it looks like they just don't want to spend time doing it right way.
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Ticket ID: IET-854-11379 After i upgraded my lic to include AFA my AFW lic never changed to 1+1 but stayed at 1 device. So i could not use the AFW lic key with AFA after i paid for the upgrade. I don't really care at this point because AFA does not stop the ads i get on my phone so i won't use it anymore.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  20. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    @Dragon1952 I see, there was a problem on our side and the upgrade procedure failed.

    Support guy has generated a new key instead of upgrading for you as an excuse for these troubles. So now you have two license keys, one is Premium (you can use it for both desktop and android), other is your old Standard key. Feel free to use both:)
     
  21. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I am using the premium lic now with computer and phone. I still get ads on the phone but will use it anyway because it must be filtering something.
     
  22. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Wait-wait-wait, that's bad, where exactly do you get the ads?
    Browsers, apps or both?
    Do you use VPN mode or proxy? VPN is a recommended way as it's really easy to use.
     
  23. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I changed to vpn mode and it now blocks the ads in the Weather App that i use. This vpn is between my phone and what ?
     
  24. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Local VPN mode
    If you are using this mode, Adguard does not need ROOT privileges to carry out filtering. At the same time, a VPN-server is located on your device, so that there is no need to pass your traffic through a remote server in order to filter it.
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    If i have a rooted phone, do i have more benefits?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.