Adguard DNS (beta)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Nanobot, Jul 26, 2016.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

    The servers in Europe are already available ?
    Is there any way to test the paid features?
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi @avatar ,

    Are we getting any closer to a new server a little closer to Sydney?

    Thanks.
     
  3. jimmytim

    jimmytim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Posts:
    22
    Sydney is very far away from Melbourne
    I have tried opendns...and their servers are in Sydney
    Should have put one in each state for Australia instead but hey, who knows what will happen
    (I am reluctent to purchase adguard pro for ios for this dns reason alone)
     
  4. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    There will be a server in Tokyo pretty soon (waiting for packet.net to roll it out).

    I wonder how good is tokyo-australia connectivity?

    In a few weeks there will be new AG Pro release that won't depend on our DNS.
    AG will intercept and do the ad blocking locally, so that you could use any DNS you like.
     
  5. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    I am sorry for missing the question.

    EU servers are almost ready. Actually, we've set them up some time ago and now we are just waiting for the hosting company to provide us access to the automated BGP setup panel. They say it will take 2 weeks from now.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Very cool! If you let us know when it is up and running I can try ping command again.

    Tokyo is still a looong way from Sydney though.
     
  7. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
  8. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Here is an instruction:
    https://dnscrypt.org/#dnscrypt-routers

    Just mind that router setup is not easy and requires some linux skills.
     
  9. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    Can someone explain the differences in the adguard resolvers that come with Simple DNS?
    2016-12-10_161040.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2016
  10. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,280
    Has stated here: https://adguard.com/en/adguard-dns/instruction.html#instruction
    Adguard DNS has 4 IP addresses. The difference I highlighted below

    Our IP addresses
    Default
    Use these servers to block ads, trackers and phishing websites.

    176.103.130.130

    176.103.130.131

    Family Protection
    Use these servers to block ads, trackers, phishing and adult websites, and to enforce safe search in your browser.

    176.103.130.132

    176.103.130.134
     
  11. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    Awesome! I love the force safe search feature. Thanks
     
  12. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    332
    Anyone know if there a way set custom DNS servers in Chrome based browsers?

    It would be great to use the Ad-guard DNS but restrict them to the browser, I believe that Comodo Dragon uses builtin DNS servers so it seems there should be a way.

    Via an extension perhaps?
     
  13. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    As I recall, Chrome uses Windows dns client, which is used system wide. You can't change it via extension.

    One more example: Yandex browser can use DNSCrypt.

    However, this functionality requires changing the browser code.
     
  14. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    332
    I found a nice little app called ChrisPC DNS Switch Pro it allows you to switch between DNS servers and create Custom DNS.

    I use the Adguard DNS for Custom DNS and now I can switch to it at the press of a button for browsing then switch it back to default DNS when I am done so I have the best of both world, secure DNS for browsing and high speed DNS for gaming etc...

    Now what I am thinking is it would be awesome if you were able to add this functionality to Adguard assistant?
     
  15. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,030
    Public DNS Server Tool does this also. You can add more servers to the list.
     
  16. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    332
    Thanks I will give that one a try.
     
  17. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    I use DNSCrypt for the same reason, it allows to quickly switch between resolvers.

    First of all, this implies that we should incorporate DNS functionality into the desktop program.
    We still didn't come to a decision about it as these things are somewhat parallel.
     
  18. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I haven't followed up regarding Adguard DNS for a few months now.

    Has anyone continued to use Adguard DNS throughout their entire home networks? (pushing to all clients/devices via router)

    If yes, is anyone using various smartphone apps with (or without) significant issues from Adguard DNS?

    I'm going to trial this again through my home network but I am trying to decide if I should push it again to all clients or just trial one device at a time since I did experience some issues with smartphone apps. Not so much Adguard DNS fault, of course, but the fact that the majority of smartphone apps contact so many tracking servers and ad servers as a part of regular functionality these days and therefore when it comes to DNS level ad-blocking, it becomes somewhat of a cat and mouse type of game. I should note that Adguard team has always been great with regard to fixing issues. If I get some testing of Adguard DNS going over the next few days, I will share my current experiences here.
     
  19. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
    Configured my router w/ AdguardDNS for a month it works too good that I removed it... as my Android games does't get any bonus items through video ads:argh::D
     
  20. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @avatar The Adguard DNS overview page (https://adguard.com/en/adguard-dns/overview.html) for whatever reason is still showing "You are not currently using Adguard DNS" with the default servers. Advertisements are certainly being filtered correctly on DNS level, Adguard for Windows is temporarily disabled. So Adguard DNS is definitively working correctly, but the overview page is not displaying correct status. ipconfig /all on devices confirms Adguard DNS is being utilized correctly, etc.
     
  21. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
  22. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
  23. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  24. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    I too have used AG DNS servers, since inception.
    I visited the site it said I was not using the DNS,
    I refresh the page and it updated ;)
    AG-SiteSS.png
    When you first land on the page let it load,
    then refresh.
     
  25. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK


    AdGuard is an excellent DNS I use DNS Jumper for switching adding DNS resollvers:

    http://www.sordum.org/7952/dns-jumper-v2-1/
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.