Adguard - Ad Blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Tyrizian, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    avatar,
    Adguard latest stable
    I use small icon for Adguard Assistant

    Edge Browser - When I sign-in into outlook.com & inbox appears, AA appears with big icon along with AA popup (the same as first start of browser on Adguard install) i.e AA settings are reverted to default.
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,940
    Same here.
     
  3. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks for letting me know, I appreciate it.

    Question though, How well does the DNSCrypt version block, in comparison to AG for Windows?
     
  4. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    Its happening with any browser, right?
    I tried with Chrome & IE & the result was same.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,672
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  6. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    That's pretty much describes everything.

    However, there's one more thing I'd like to add. Sometimes we face a situation when an app goes crazy due to ad blocking and re-sends dozens ad requests in a second. This may indeed drain the battery pretty quickly. Look for weirdly huge "bandwidth saved" values in the apps management section.

    Also, since the latest release there's one more option. You can convert AG into a DNS-level ad blocker like it's described here: https://blog.adguard.com/en/great-battery-saving-mode-of-adguard-for-android/
     
  7. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Any browser?

    Oh, this is something very old and unused, how did you find it?:)
     
  8. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    I guess you meant AG DNS? It is much worse. Basically, it is the same as blocking ads using hosts file. You can block most of the ad networks, but for quality ad blocking that's simply not enough.
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,672
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Firefox 50.0.2 x64
    Google :) I was searching for Adguard Assistant settings.
     
  10. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,672
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Seems like it was Privacy Badger add-on causing the problem.
     
  11. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Whitelist "local.adguard.com" domain in it, it is used for injecting Assistant and cosmetic filters to the page.
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,672
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yes. Strangely, I did have local.adguard.com whitelisted. The Assistant seemed to jump back to life when I whitelisted adguard.com, but it now continues to work even after unwhitelisting that.
     
  13. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,853
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Today after boot The AGFW tray icon looked different so i opened the GUI. It said something about the service not starting. I tried to end the svc.exe process to see if that would help but not sure if it ended. The color of the icon changed and the service was correctly started it looks like.
     
  14. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    avatar,

    Bitdefender Free AV Stable Released. Its AV & there is no FW & HTTPS scan.

    On Adguard install, WFP Driver option is disabled by default, why?
    Any incompatibility or I can enable WFP Driver option?
     
  15. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    In fact Bitdefender can filter HTTPS, but there are no compatibility issues with AG.

    I suppose AG has detected something left by KIS or ESET and disabled WFP just in case.
     
  16. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    I am talking about Bitdefender Free Antivirus, there is no Firewall & HTTPS scanning.

    I dont think KIS/ESET leftover coz with Avast, WFP Driver option was enabled by default.
     
  17. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    The second shot: are you sure you've removed AG settings while reinstalling it?
     
  18. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    Yes, I always uninstall with "Remove the settings" checked.
    And after uninstall & system restart, I check for the leftover files/folders in program data & users folders.
     
  19. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
  20. @avatar

    Two questions

    1. FIlterlists

    Would it be possible to add disconnect list to available lists? https://s3.amazonaws.com/lists.disconnect.me/simple_malvertising.txt

    Reason: I do like to block privacy and adtrackers, but don't mind websites earning some money on advertisements. The Disconnect Malvertising list and Adguard's privacy list (which is a cleaned up and sanatized easy privacy list) suit my needs best

    2. Stealth mode
    When will we see the goodies of this extension appearing in Adguard blocker (besides AdGuard's privacy list which is already available)
     
  21. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
  22. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    @Windows_Security I suppose you're talking about Adguard browser extension?

    Originally we were planning to do it in v2.5, but then realised, that we'd better do it along with add-on redesign, which is coming with the next major update.

    Again, next major update will allow (finally) to add custom filters functionality, so you'll be able to add any filter manually.

    Yup, thank you, answered in both.
     
  23. @avatar :thumb: inevitable question: when is the next release expected? :D
     
  24. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,048
    Realistic ETA is February. We have ridiculously long NY vacations, nobody works for 2 weeks and first week after that we're trying to catch up on things:)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.