AdFender - Free alternative to AdMuncher

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by kupo, Jan 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    I found this while browsing raymond.cc.
    -http://www.adfender.com/
     
  2. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    tried this software.. didnt block ads for me :isay:
     
  3. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543

    Did you look at this section yet?: "AdFender doesn't seem to be filtering anything... what's wrong?

    If you are running Windows Vista or higher, check if your browser is running with elevated privileges. If your browser is running with elevated privileges, you can right click the AdFender tray icon, and select the option "Run with elevated privileges" to run AdFender with elevated privileges. If you don't see this option in the tray menu and you are running Windows Vista and higher, it means AdFender is running with elevated privileges. Verify your firewall settings to make sure AdFender is allowed to connect to the Internet. It is also possible that you are seeing ads that have been downloaded previously and is present in your browser cache. Refer to your browser help on how to clear the cache.
    ".

    I haven't tried it myself, just thought some folks might miss that part.
     
  4. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    and...how good is it?
     
  5. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    332
    Just installed it (Win 7 x64), disabled AdMuncher to compare. The UI crashes when I go to view History. Seems to block ads, but not all of them - e.g. on cnet.com it allowed some of the video ads. If this thing updates regularly and improves it may be worth it.
     
  6. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Video ads are always going to be a pain I think. It's one of the few places where the websites/advertisers will keep hammering away at blocking methods or just simply blocking you from the website.
     
  7. chris_wal

    chris_wal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    US
    Worked fine for me and appears to be very good at what it does. The cnet videos that I watched didn't have any ads. Did the program update the database after you installed? The current database version is 2.280.37. Also you may want to clear the cache before trying.
     
  8. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I opened softpedia in internet explorer and it blocked ads but it doesnt block ads in dragon or waterfox
    and dragon and waterfox are not yet supported by adfender..sad
     
  9. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    Same here for Dragon. It looks like Firefox is not blocked too. Only IE for now.
    But for me not a big problem, Firefox and Dragon have AdBlock Plus so for IE is a good thing.
    skudo12 thanks for finding. :thumb:
     
  10. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Actually, it's one of the forum members of raymond.cc who found it. I just shared it here. :D BTW, a review has been made by raymond here -http://www.raymond.cc/blog/adfender-block-advertisements-without-plugins/
     
  11. chris_wal

    chris_wal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    US
    The supported browsers are listed under the "Applications" tab and the product is meant for 32-bit processes.
     
  12. Echilis

    Echilis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Hi I just install Adfender on windows 7 64 version. It seems to block ads when Firefox is running outside the sandboxie but when I run firefox sandboxed adfender does not filter anything. Can somebody show any way to make it work when I run firefox sondboxed.
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,128
    may i know the benefic regard to adblock for firefox or chrome , or opera?

    thanks
     
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,122
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Works well for IE :D
     
  15. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Interesting. From the link: "AdFender is a local content-filtering HTTP proxy server." Seems to be related to Privoxy or Proxomitron but maybe more user-friendly.
     
  16. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I'm tryin Adfender out,so far works pretty good on Firefox.
     
  17. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    I can't think of any benefits, aside from support for IE9, and free your browsers from plugins.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  18. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Probably because it isn't configured to run in Sandboxie/ or Drop Rights is enabled.
     
  19. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    i can think of a few. support for IE9, and free your browsers from plugins
     
  20. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    tried this in ie8 looks promising...
     
  21. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    When running browser sandboxed you need do this in SandboxIE (to AdFender to filter):

    Open Sandbox Settings -> Resource Access -> IPC Access -> Full Access, click Add, enter into the Add Resource Name box:

    *\BaseNamedObjects*\adfenderactive_*
     
  22. Echilis

    Echilis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks Majomo. I did what you suggest. It is working now. Though it is not as much effective as AdBlock Plus. Sometimes it left rectangular box But it saves a lot of ram that firefox used to use with AdBlock plus.
     
  23. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    it works on my IE9 but doen't works on my default browser CHROMIUM DEV version 18:mad:
     
  24. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,128
    thanks
    but does it use the adblock lists/filters/subscriptions like fanboys..?
     
  25. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.