AdFender 1.75 Released!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by kupo, May 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    New version of AdFender is released, the filter updates for HTTPS is a very nice change.
     
  2. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    USA Southwest
    Thanx. Just updated.
     
  3. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    yup. great little app for those who do not use ABP.
     
  4. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for your input - will try it - been looking for something like this.
     
  5. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Just update from v. 1.60 to v. 1.75.

    AdFender is an effective ad blocker; with it I don't need to have for browsers that I use a specific ad blocker (or extension...). It is working well when I use IE, Opera or Maxthon.

    Nice to see that was added support for 64 bit browsers; now user doesn't need customize the proxy.

    A freeware app. that does an excellent work!
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Wouldn't it be a good idea when the link to the site of AdFender would have been posted (and a forum link for that program, if it exists)?
    That would sound to me common good practice. :ouch:
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Does anyone have info about whether this program uses much system resources and/or slows internet browsing? Also, I see AdFender claims to block malware sites. Does anyone know if it uses any specific block list for this?

    I'm using AdMuncher now but if this blocks https then I may give it a spin. Has anyone tested it on any https sites like youtube?

    thanks
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    It does not filter https. It is a http proxy and works by filtering all http traffic through a local http proxy server it installs on your system. The https it refers to in its most recent update "Filter updates over HTTPS" means that it now downloads its filter updates via https, not that it filters https...
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2013
  10. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Derived from Malware Domains (http://www.malwaredomains.com/)
    Thanks for clarification.
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello majoMo,

    You are most welcome ;) ...
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    In previous version, it was possible to approve (whitelist) a website by opening up "Settings" and adding the URL (of the website where you want to see ads) on the "Approved Web Sites" List, see also the screenshot below =
    http://i.imgur.com/qiZzljZ.png

    In latest version (1.75) omitted the option "Approved Web Sites", see also the screenshot below =
    http://i1-win.softpedia-static.com/screenshots/AdFender_2.png?1369776421
    -------------------------------------------------
    In my IE10 (Windows 8 Pro, 32-bit) seems that exception rules (custom rules) not works. o_O Any ideas?

    "Filters" -> "Custom Rules" option:
    http://i1-win.softpedia-static.com/screenshots/AdFender_3.png?1369776421

    From AdFender Help file:
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  13. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    It seems you need to use TWO pipe symbols (instead one) and at the end to add "^" symbol:
    For the example "@@|http://example.com", you need to change to:
    Code:
    "@@|[B][COLOR="Red"]|[/COLOR][/B][url]http://example.com[/url][B][COLOR="Red"]^[/COLOR][/B]"
    The best way to add an exception is in 'Log' tab to right click in an item and select "Add exception rule for item..." - don't forget to use 'Apply' button... :shifty:
     
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    Was already tested, without results.

    The following combinations checked also:
    Code:
    @@|http://example.com
    @@||http://example.com^
    @@||example.com^
    @@||www.example.com
    again no results.

    Changed ther browser HTTP proxy to 127.0.0.1 and port 7070:
    all tested once again. No results.
    Exception rules (custom rules) not works.

    OS: Windows 8 Pro 32-bit, IE10.
     
  15. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @ 7anon, tested in Win 7, 64bits in IE9-Opera-Maxthon.

    P.S.: In Administrator account and with 64 bits based browser, there isn't need to customize proxy (with newest v. 1.75).

    1- For your first link [http://i.imgur.com/qiZzljZ.png] in post #12, filter with AdFender:

    1.PNG

    Link is filtered indeed; It works with IE9-Opera-Maxthon (maybe useful to delete browsers'cache firstly).

    2- Adding the exception rule for that link:

    2.PNG

    Above link is opened well with IE9-Opera-Maxthon.

    @ 7anon, I can't try in Win 8, IE 10, since I haven't them.
     
  16. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Greece
    Try this it works: @@||wilderssecurity.com^$document
     
  17. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    Ok. Thanks anyway.

    --------------------------

    It worked! Thank you.
     
  18. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Thanks Kupo for this little but powerful tool!
     
  19. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Any of you folks use it plus ABP on Firefox? Actually I really only use x64 variant Cyberfox but occasionally use IE10. Thinking of installing AdF, but keeping it disabled, and then prior to an IE session enabling it. Anyone use it that way? Thank you!
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    On "Filters" window, with Easylist (English) enabled,
    when I click on "Check for Updates" the pop-up says:
    "No updates available. Please check again in the future."

    But when I click on "View" the log says:
    No update since June 04? o_O
    Is this normal? o_O
    ----------------------
    From EasyList (-https://easylist.adblockplus.org/
    =
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  21. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Greece
    I have the exact same problem. No answer from the support yet.
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    I'm exactly in the same situation.

    Please revert if there are any changes.

    Edit:
    Reply from AdFender Support:
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    June 12, 2013:
    :thumb:
     
  24. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    This isn't a bad little program. I kind of wish it didn't use the same filters that ABP uses, but I will say AdFender seems to behave a bit better than ABP.
     
  25. beergas

    beergas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Cool so far with this. No browser slowdown. I still run NoAds for heck of it but may test w/o.
    Easy install on Win 8.1 Pro x64 Preview. No issues, yet. Seems easy on resources.
    8.1 was bit pain to create, used Store. Lot of long pauses after the several reboots after lengthy d/l of its GBs size. TW cable actually went outin storm and later d/l picked right up.
    MS says can't do Final 8.1 when released to convert Preview to Final. Looks like have to rollback Macrium image then. But that's for like October or later. Hoping MS does allow it.
    fwiw looks like nearly everything came thru intact. Needed couple resetings that 8.1 returns to its defaults.
    Would like to turn off tabbing function in IE 11 but seems no go. Just have to keep going up to
    those open tabs. Ugh. Have to mess w/ that.
    Boot time really quick, UEFI bios. Ad Muncher wasn't too happy so giving AdFender the try. Again fwiw Patience during those lengthy 8.1 install pauses! Count numbers may appear to hang but will finally continue.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.