Adding Schedualed not working :-(

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by pele, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pele

    pele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi

    I have heard that ESET is the best antivirus soft on the market, So i downloaded the trial and installed the soft, so far so good :eek:

    But then when i make a scheduled so the soft will scan my computer in the middle of the night when i not use my computer i only get
    "Adding Scheduled task failed" and also on the rest if i try to edit them...

    What can be wrong?....

    Hope some one can say what to fix.....
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,746
    Location:
    Texas
    Helllo pele,

    Look through this thread starting with post #111.
     
  3. pele

    pele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7

    Thanks have take a look and also did what was writed in that thread, but the same when i try to save my settings :'( don`t know now what to do...

    Hope you have more info and help to giv me so i can save my settings when eset will scan my computer...

    Regards
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,746
    Location:
    Texas
    What is your operating system, XP or Vista?
     
  5. pele

    pele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7

    I have XP in my computer with SP3 pack installed...
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you are adding a new task properly, maybe there's a problem with permissions of the current user for the ESET registry key.
     
  7. pele

    pele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Is this something i can change in soft or reg files?....
     
  8. pele

    pele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hmmm still no answer how to fix this :'( Looks like i need to buy other Antivirus program.....
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If it's actually a problem with permissions to certain registry keys, you'd have problems with any software, no matter whether it's from MS or another AV vendor. Please make sure that you are logged in under an administrator account and that the administrator group has full control for the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ESET key granted. Pay attention to permission inheriting from parent objects and permission spreading to child objects.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. pele

    pele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for help Marcos, now i can save all OK :D :D :D :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.