adding programs need advice

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by donsan709, Dec 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. donsan709

    donsan709 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    dallas tx
    Hi all just added norton pro 04 and bo clean to process guard 1.150 and need to know if i need to check any of the box"s for read write and the others as i do not fully understand everything about this program yet.for now i have all checked for bo clean and none for norton so would someone please advise me on the correct settings please.
     
  2. linney

    linney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Posts:
    174
    For maximum security it's recommended that all system and security processes be added to Process Guard's list of protected processes, with Write/Terminate/Suspend/SetInfo privileges blocked.

    Read about "Configuration" in the Help Section for further details.

    Merry Christmas
     
  3. donsan709

    donsan709 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    dallas tx
    Thanks a bunch for the advice just a little confused about the set up for blocked flags and allowed flags. Seems funny that the only thing that always try's to gain access is bo clean so i hope that is what's supposed to be happening just want to make sure this program is not stopping bo clean from protecting my computer. Please let me know if i should not see all these logs written about bo clean trying to gain access.
     
  4. linney

    linney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Posts:
    174
    Can't really help you about Bo Clean and Process Guard. It is the sort of question best answered by someone more qualified.

    A program that I have running that is always asking for "Write" access is Outpost Firewall Pro version 2. I know Wayne and Co are aware of that situation and don't believe it to be a major problem.

    In my situation if it really concerned me I would just give it the type of access the firewall thinks it needs and cut down the log size. In your situation it might be different.

    A similar story is seen in this post.

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=17637
     
  5. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    For all that logging I suggest to give boclean.exe full allow privileges.
    Dolf
     
  6. donsan709

    donsan709 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    dallas tx
    thanks for the great advice. I hve allowed BO CLEAN all accross the board and it has helped a little bit for some reason i still get a few logs but i don't think i will worry about it. I am just glad that i'm able to shut down the computer and start back up again and not have the other problem.Thanks gavin and Jason for the great product i wouldn't be without it. Oh ya when i speak of logs i still mean BO CLEAN nothing else
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.