Adding more RAM DDR4

Discussion in 'hardware' started by wolfrun, Jul 30, 2020.

1. wolfrun

wolfrun Registered Member

Win 10 64bit. I would like to know if it's possible to add more RAM if BIOS is Single Channel Memory Mode. Currently have 8GB in one slot and the other slot is open. P.S. Have added another DDR4 8GB stick in that open slot but it's not registering. Also, I am NOT a techie so go easy. Never had a problem adding ram in my old Windows 7 rig.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 30, 2020
  2. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member

The fact it in single channel mode has nothing to do with how much RAM you have, or if you can add more. That is determined by the capability of the motherboard - which, sadly, you told us nothing about. :(

You need to look in your motherboard manual and see what the maximum capacity of each slot is, and the type of RAM it supports. You should also visit your motherboard's website and check the Memory QVL (qualified vendors list) to see what RAM is compatible with your board. Then go from there.

Or - visit the Crucial Memory Advisor. This site lets you enter your motherboard information and it will tell you what memory and how much it supports. Or you can download and run their scanner and it will tell you what you have and what RAM it supports. You don't have to buy from that site but if you buy directly from Crucial, they guarantee it will be compatible. Just about all the other RAM makers have similar memory "wizards".

Single channel and dual channel are memory architectures. Dual channel requires two sticks of RAM. "In theory", running in dual channel mode offers significantly better performance. HOWEVER, "theory" and the "real-world" don't always jive and that is the case here. Real-world experience has shown us that the performance gains typically are not very significant, and often are totally negligible, except on paper and benchmark tests, but not in normal tasks.