Adding Files

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Whynot, Feb 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whynot

    Whynot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Hi,
    As a complete novice I'm trying to determine which files requiring protection I need to add. On my root drive I have over 800 .exe's and on my program drive over 100. That's a lotta work, an' I'm sure totally OTT - not to mention if the 'puter would actually be workable after this. So, if I load the default list and my security software, is this enough. Suggestions and help sorely needed, thanks.
     
  2. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    you would probably just need to add your resident security software (firewall, Anti-Virus, Anti-Torjans, etc...) as well as your internet capable program, browser/mail/IM, etc... plus default windows critical services added by default by PG :)
     
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Morning/afternoon all ......I hope this has not been asked........ Is it ok to allow Globel Hooks on all security programs
     
  4. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    Hello Whynot!,
    You really only need to add protection for 1) system processes (explorer.exe, winlogon.exe, etc), and 2) security processes (your firewall, antivirus, antitrojan, etc).

    Rainwakler,
    Generally yes, because security programs are 'trusted' programs - ie. you know that even if they use hooks, they won't use them maliciously.

    The general rule of thumb is - if you completely trust a program (such as a reputable firewall or antivirus) then it should be OK to give it full, unrestricted privilege access, but if you don't completely trust a program, then use Process Guard to restrict its capabilities to see if it tries to do anything potentially malicious.
     
  5. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    OK thanks Wayne...... another question..... IF a trusted program needs hooks and i have not allowed that in 'Options", will this be noted in the Window Log thus letting me know, in a manner of speaking, that i should allow hooks ?
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Rainwalker, Any programme requiring hooks will show a log of the event and if PG is minimised it's icon will change from red to blue. You will have to assess if the programme making such hook requests is a valid and trusted application, if it is on your list iist it is trusted so you can make the necessary allows, if it is a trusted application that you know then it should probably be listed anyway :)

    Hope this makes sense - Pilli
     
  7. @Wayne:

    "You really only need to add protection for 1) system processes (explorer.exe, winlogon.exe, etc), and 2) security processes (your firewall, antivirus, antitrojan, etc)."

    Why? What about ...

    "you would probably just need to add ... as well as your internet capable program, browser/mail/IM, etc...plus..." (by gkweb)
     
  8. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Couldn't be clearer Pilli :) i have not yet installed the latest version ....... color change in icon :cool:
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Thanks Rainwalker, Be sure to uninstall 1.200 in the correct order.
    Diasble protecrion
    In Task Manager terminate pg_msprot.exe
    Uninstall PG

    If you want to save your settings - Reboot and remove or rename your pguard.dat file found in the \windows\system32\ folder.

    Install the new version of PG Important! - Before restarting delete or rename the new pguard.dat file and replace with your old file.

    Pilli ;)
     
  10. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Pilli........ I would not have thought to remove new .dat before installing old........ your a great help....have a cookie now and a virtual beer/single malt later :D
     
  11. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Cheers Rainwalker! Hope the upgrade goes well. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Whynot

    Whynot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Thanks to all for replies and advice - a gill of 15yr old all round, an' if you don't like whiskey - you will after tasting this stuff mmmmmm !
    :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.