add/remove programs affecting both XP partitions

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by malong335, Mar 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. malong335

    malong335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Hi everyone,

    I've learned a lot from reading this forum already, but still have a major issue!

    Up front, I want to state that I'm not currently using Disk Director, but am planning on buying it if it will help in reloading this system(I'm not sure I have any other alternative).

    My current system has 2 XP partitions that were created by loading XP on the first one, getting all basic applications setup then copying it to the second partition with Partition Magic. I am using Boot Magic as the loader. The main partition is for everything(email, internet, etc) and the second is for audio recording(Pro Tools) and related products. Pro Tools is also loaded on the main partition for little jobs. This system has been running fine for over a year without issue(it's my 2nd PC setup in this same dual XP fashion). The main partition gets regular security updates and the recording partition does not(has update turned off - I don't use it for internet activities). Both OS partitions are hidden from each other.

    About a week ago after I went into the recording partition and got an error that sounded related to the video drivers, so I updated to the latest Nvidia drivers which caused an error stating that multiple video drivers we found so I uninstalled the drivers and cleaned up the temp directories. That night I ran out of time to reload the new drivers and rebooted into the main partition which came up with the default video as well. I also noticed that the recording partition has programs listed that have never been installed on it and will not uninstall(gives error). I also notice that a program called Eraser was showing up in the context menu on the recording partition and had never been installed there.

    I was able to fix the video error, by loading the same version of Nvidia driver on both partitions, but needed to update some audio programs and keep having issues that when I change something in one partition, it screws something up on the other. Including getting a "windows installer" pop up in the recording partition that I think has to do with Office being installed on the main partition, but not on the recording one.

    I'm confused at this point since the OS partitions are hidden and its been fine for a year. My prior dual XP system ran for about 3 years this way without issue before I upgraded to this faster hardware.

    Any thoughts and help would be greatly appreciated.

    Mark
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Mark,

    Welcome to the forum.

    Can you post a screenshot of what Disk Management shows for each XP? It may help to see how Windows is treating the drives. Just boot into each as you normally do.

    Have you checked your My Documents folder? Do you have those showing up the same on each XP? What about the desktop backgrounds?
     
  3. malong335

    malong335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Hi Mudcrab, I was hoping that you would respond. I appreciate your knowledge and all that I've read here of you helping people with these issues.

    Here are the DM screenshots along with a shot of the add/remove window from the recording partition showing many programs(Adobe Premiere, Photoshop, Arcsoft, Belarc, etc) that have never been installed on the recording partition.

    My desktop backgrounds and the files on the desktops are unique as are the My Document folders on both partitions. FYI - I use the same account name/profile(created when the main partition was installed) on both partitions.

    Thanks, Mark
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does anything look odd in either of the Program Files directories? Folders for programs that aren't installed, for example.

    Do you have any backup images of the drive/partitions from before this happened?
     
  5. malong335

    malong335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    No the program folders look correct as does the start/program menus.

    I don't have any recent images that would do me much good at this point. Data is all backed up, though. I have a session coming up in a couple of weeks so I'll probably just throw another OS hard drive in and load from scratch a single recording partition, hate to do that, but it would give me a good stable platform to get this session done.

    Another thing happened today when I went into Boot Magic to look at why my newly added backup partition was hidden. I got the error in the attached image then the following screen shows that its not enabled. So far I've cancelled out of the screen and I can still boot to both partitions. It feels like it's going down hill fast! :D

    Any thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  6. malong335

    malong335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Disregard the above error in BootMagic - the eSATA drive that I attached to pull off files and data images was causing this. Powered down, took it off & no more issue with that part, anyway.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You may want to take a look at this thread and notice the results of using the Force hiding OSS option (mentioned at the bottom of Post #14).

    Does BootMagic have a similar option? Otherwise, you could edit the partition table manually (if you have the software, like DD) and give it a try (make sure you have a drive backup first). Perhaps, once the systems are isolated and fixed, the normal booting setup will work again.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  8. malong335

    malong335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    OK, I'll take a look when I get home tonight. I don't think that BM has that, but I could switch to DD. Alas, I'm afraid that I may have too many weird things going on at this point to salvage it all without reloading.

    Thanks again, Mark
     
  9. malong335

    malong335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Yea, Boot Magic doesn't have anything quite like that. My system is usable and fairly stable right now so I'm not making any changes until I get my recording session done in about a week. Then I'm probably going to rebuild the system. I'm not sure at this point if I will dual boot with hardware or software. This has kind of soured me on software dual boot even though I don't have a good explanation of what is occurring.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.