Adblock Plus now available for Chrome

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Pinga, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Finally, Adblock Plus - originally developed as a Firefox extension and arguably the best and most flexible ad blocker available - has become available for Chromium-based browsers. We've discussed this for some time on the Google Chrome extensions thread

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=263095

    yet I feel that it deserves its own thread: The current proliferation of increasingly sophisticated popups, sliders and other modern evils means we need to remain vigilant and apply novel filtering techniques. For example, getting rid of a single slider on economist.com requires blocking six different items:

    http://media.economist.com/images/slider/*
    http://media.economist.com/images/sliderce/mainbody.png
    http://media.economist.com/images/sliderce/top_main.png
    http://media.economist.com/images/sliderrow/down_arrow.gif
    http://media.economist.com/images/sliderrow/mainbody.png
    http://media.economist.com/images/sliderrow/top_main.png

    So let's keep up with the Murdochs and Springers and discuss and share our findings here!

    https://chrome.google.com/extensions/detail/cfhdojbkjhnklbpkdaibdccddilifddb
     
  2. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    I'l pass Chrome. Again.
     
  3. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Adblock Plus for Google Chrome is working very well. I have subscribed to EasyPrivacy + Easy List, AdBlockRules, Adversity (Adult, P2P, and Tracking) lists.
     
  4. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    What happens if you just have:
    http://media.economist.com/images/slide*
    instead of the six above?

    I'm asking because I can't see any slider on economist.com currently using Chrome or FF. Maybe, I have to undo a lot of "protections" scattered all over the place just to test this.
     
  5. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Code:
    Originally Posted by [B]Wladimir Palant[/B]
    I have to state first: Chrome’s  extension system [U]has severe limitations[/U],
    so we [U]won’t be able to create[/U]  an [U]exact equivalent[/U] of [U]Adblock Plus for Firefox[/U].
    Needless to comment on it...;)
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, it appears to be working well for me anyway. I may miss the little devil for a variety of aesthetic reasons but that 'boring' ABP octagon has always been reassuring whether on SeaMonkey, Firefox, Iron or Chrome. If only Opera had an adblocker even halfway close to ABP!

    It would be interesting if Chrome could develop a built-in adblocker 'Iron' style to work concomitantly with ABP. In fact, it's a shame that Fanboy's list has been discontinued as I could watch some Channel 4 (UK) programs without any commercial breaks with the extension adblocker (usually AdThwart) disabled, primarily as the flash wouldn't run with an extension adblocker enabled.
     
  7. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Well, I tried to see the slider again with Firefox and its ABP turned off. No luck. I guess it's a geo-locational thing? You guys in Europe are served the fancy stuff and those from "TWCs" are spared :doubt:
     
  8. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    ...Since he obviously changed his mind! :D

    http://adblockplus.org/blog/
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010
  9. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Is the ABP of GC the as effective as the one of FFo_O
     
  10. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    No, since Chrome does not yet support various functions that allow the GC version to block requests entirely.
     
  11. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Another reason to use Ad Muncher ;)
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    too bad its a subscription based product, if it was a one off purchase id probly buy admuncher :doubt:
     
  13. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    There is a lifetime license option; it's more expensive obviously but worth it in the long run. I'm one of the lucky ones who purchased before October 2006 when the only option was lifetime.
     
  14. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Probably not, but the good news is that Adblock Plus is there now for Chrome and I have no doubt it will improve further as we go along...
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Just as I thought...
     
  16. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    A flame war has broken out in the Chrome extensions pages for the "old" and the "new" blocker. Sensitive people, (such as Wilders moderators), may not want to go there. Pleas about letting the holidays spirit prevail are being ignored.

    @Pinga, how you doin' with the Economist?
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    ....Damn I miss all the fun! LOL :D

    Happy holidays & a very Merry Montol to everyone.
     
  18. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, one thing I've noticed, no doubt someone who is a bit more 'up' on computers will be able to tell me about this, but I tend to surf the Net with the JS off in Chrome (utilising the whitelist) & I have noticed that if I open a page not on my whitelist I can see ads sometimes. As soon as I put the page on the whitelist & reload the ads disappear!
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010
  20. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    Yes that's because adblocking extensions for Chrome require javascript to be enabled.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  22. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    I don't get what's the fuss all about, apart from the icon issue (which doesn't affect me). In fact, I'm glad that Wladimir Palant is now onto the development of the add-on...
     
  23. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    And now a "fork"?

    It's genesis seems to lie in the exclusion of a particular filter list from the list of filters on offer.
     
  24. Halffull

    Halffull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Posts:
    50
    ABP doesn;t quite work as effectively on chrome, for one thing you dont have "open blockable items" that you get in forefox that enables you to seleticely block certain items which the default patches do not work on.
     
  25. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I'm not sure that anyone claims that AdBlock Plus for Chrome is as effective as AdBlock Plus for Firefox. For one thing, Palant has only recently taken up the project. For another, Chrome gives far less API access to devs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.