Adaware.look2me virus/spyware

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Allstar, May 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Allstar

    Allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Ive thrown every spyware scanner possible at the virus.. and nod32 recognises it. But after the reboot it comes back under a different dll file.
    Anyone know the main dll culprit for this one? or a quick way to get rid of it
    Ive ran adaware/hijackthis/spybot with no success.. Adaware picks it up each time its rebooted but unsuccessful it removing it completely.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Allstar, welcome to Wilders.

    Have you tried this removal tool

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Allstar

    Allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    so far so good... just doing another adaware scan and see if that picks it up or not
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Excellent, let us know the results.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You should have contacted us in the first place, it was important for us to locate the file causing the dll re-appear each time. Otherwise it's possible that the same problem may emerge again in the future.
     
  6. Allstar

    Allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    All good across the board now. That removal tool did the job. Adaware picked up nothing now. Im just thankful i can give the pc back to the customer now
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks for letting us know.

    By the way, was NOD32 placed on an already infected computer?

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Allstar

    Allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Yes it was
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I thought so.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.