Ad Muncher: Remove social buttons.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JeffreyCole, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    Look up your license...

    http://www.admuncher.com/reglookup.shtml

    The e-mail we sent you tells you this information.
     
  2. max2

    max2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    362
    Thanks Jeff works pretty good. Can you block the big Facebook, Twitter, and RSS buttons on http://anandtech.com/ and the 2 on http://www.neowin.net/ ?

    Just to let you know v16 is still on the front page with v31 being the latest.
     
  3. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    I can't edit the first post anymore.

    there's a limit to the number of times you can edit a post.
     
  4. darkrats

    darkrats Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    I already have a custom filter with many entries. Can you tell me how to merge your filter with mine. I only know how to replace mine with yours. Thanks.
     
  5. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    Maybe this information is already outdated and the merging is possible, though not sure.
     
  6. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    EU
    i have 2 computers which automatically got the upgrade to IE11. and now AM doesn't filter anything in IE!!!! how can this be o_O. in Comodo Dragon (my main browser) everthing works.
    my systems: W7 Pro SP1 x86.
     
  7. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,304
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ad Muncher is not compatible with IE11. This is in the process of being fixed, apparently.
     
  8. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    EU
    this is really disappointing. IE11 didn't appeared yesterday, and the technical preview was available for quite some time. if it takes the same amount of time as introducing the https filtering, then i feel ripped off...
     
  9. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes but even so, Ad Muncher is far from the only program that is having issues with IE11 that I have seen.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  10. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    EU
    you might be right. but AdBlock (EasyList) has no problems with IE11. it does it's job, and it doesn't cost a dime.
     
  11. Franky5512

    Franky5512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    That 'CustomFilters.dat' is a plain text file.
    Just shutdown AM, open 'CustomFilters.dat' /w Notepad and append the strings to your list. Start AM again.
    --> You're done.

    HTH, Franky

    @AM-Team, Jeffrey: Could you please add this CustomStrings.dat to your webpages download section? It was a fixed place to retrieve the latest version.
     
  12. Franky5512

    Franky5512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    If you setup a proxy like Freeproxy and add it to the AM list (options | filter targets --> add '+freeproxyclient:*' and '+freeproxy:*') and set that local proxy as proxy for IE11 (or whatever else) it works pretty well.

    HTH, Franky
     
  13. Franky5512

    Franky5512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    does it do its job as well and as complete as AM? Just see this social buttons discussions where I need Ghostery for (in FF, is there an addon for IE at all?) to solve it.
     
  14. Franky5512

    Franky5512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    that information was wrong* (from the devel!!!) the day it was written!
    See my post#311 in this thread.

    edit 20131214:
    *incomplete. He could (should!) have told that these are plain text files which can be merged with any tool for merging text files.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  15. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    What are you on about?
     
  16. Franky5512

    Franky5512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    in case you're talking to me (w/o quoting) I have a quote of the great ancient philosopher 'shannow'* for you: "you need to improve your reading comprehension"
    :)



    * fellow forum users: never mind, this is an IRC-insider
     
  17. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,304
    Location:
    Adelaide
    In case you missed it in the IRC channel - Facebook button at The Verge.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.