Ad Muncher: Remove social buttons.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JeffreyCole, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I enabled update to beta versions but the update I got was build 4447
     
  2. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    4448 isn't out yet.

    it will be out in 9.5 hours for premium users with beta updates enabled. :)
     
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Strange thing I noticed man.

    Even if I go to http://www.facebook.com in either Chrome or Firefox, the page always loads the https version

    I have disabled secure browsing and logged out but it always redirects to the https site

    what the duck?

    I am using Bitdefender Antivirus Plus no internet security or anything else
     
  4. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    are you using a add-on that forces HTTPS?

    like the "https everywhere" add-on....

    also, go back to your facebook account settings.

    does it actually say now "Secure browsing is currently disabled." ?
     
  5. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    no my addons are only:

    - LastPass
    - IE TAB
    - IDM (Internet Download Manager)
    - XMARKS


    I have uninstalled AdMuncher now and back to my trusty ADBlock Plus add-on which gets rid of those ads with or without https enabled
     
  6. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    AM removes so much more than just a single page...

    you should keep AM and use a single add-on for facebook until we add SSL support.

    it really is that much better. your call of course.
     
  7. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Thats what I do, AM + FacebookADless or whatever. Works perfect, far far better than ABP. ABP is pretty lousy - actually.
     
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I don't use Facebook, but I believe that if it doesn't default to HTTPS, then it's a setting users must enable in their account.
     
  9. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    I don't use facebook other than a fake account to like stuff for free codes and coupons.. I'd never use my real name anywhere, ever, much less post crap for the world to see.

    Here is how to handle HTTPS settings in FB;

    http://www.howtonew.com/how-to-disable-https-in-facebook
     
  10. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    yeah I did that but in Chrome it always goes to the HTTPS URL even if I type http://www.facebook.com

    now I switched to Firefox that doesn't happen anymore
     
  11. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I'm surprised it doesn't happen there too. IE does the same thing, which makes me think Facebook is forcing the issue.
     
  12. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    v27

    fixes facebook comments on some pages.

    couple other items too.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I updated to 4448 and now the Facebook ads are gone without ABP even :)

    thanks chief! you r0ck
     
  14. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
  15. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    Awesome. :)

    Glad it's working for you.

    All we ask from our users it patience, since on some days I get slammed with things that need fixing, but I do get to every issue so stick with us. :)
     
  16. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
  17. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  18. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    I can haz moar updatez?

    yes you can, here's v28

    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,303
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Facebook and Twitter share buttons in the top right hand side Link Screenshot
     
  20. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    I am curious what Jeff will say about them. I mean whether they're indeed private or security risks. I have reported dozens social links believing they may pose risks but Jeff said they were harmless. So I would welcome some sort of a guide how we, AM users, can recognize social links are bad or good. It could save time to everyone with reporting of harmless links.
     
  21. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
  22. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,303
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I guess Jeff will decide once he sees my post. All we can do is report them, he has the final say as to whether they go or not.
     
  23. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433

    the images are loaded from imdb.com so there's no privacy or security exposure.

    Leaving it causes no harm but allows those who want to, to click them. :)

    if anyone wants a custom filter...

    Add CSS to all pages:
    .social_networking {display:none;}
     
  24. JeffreyCole

    JeffreyCole Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    v29

    ta!
     

    Attached Files:

  25. war59312

    war59312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Please block mystatus.skype.com as lots of forums make uses of this now non existing service since Microsoft took over.

    For example, the Boxee Box forums:

    http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=46924&p=287108#post287108

    See my post. The skype image is of course missing.

    Little Bug:

    So I block mystatus.skype.com using block image rule.

    If I then do a quick reply the skype image is again allowed. Refresh the page and its blocked again.

    And be sure to click on that not existing image or your browse might show it as simply a link called "Send Message Via Skype". Click that.

    In the window that opens the skype image is also missing towards the top right of the window.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.