Ad-Aware and Spy Sweeper question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by gracie123, Jan 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hi,

    I have always run Spy Sweeper on my computer for spyware protection and no other program. But I am interested in using Ad-Aware with Spy Sweeper running in my system tray.

    Is there any conflicts I need to be concerned about or want to avoid and if so, how could I?

    Thanks!

    Gracie :)
     
  2. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    It would be best to run SS in the real time ( system tray ) and use Ad Aware as an on demand . No problems at all
     
  3. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hi,

    Oh ok... well I can do that :) but can you or someone tell me how to run Ad-Aware as on demand? I have the Ad-Watch running in system tray with Spy Sweeper and all its shields active and running.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hi,
    Open Ad-Aware through Start > Lavasoft Ad-Aware.
    You have the option to Scan - do it!
    That's your on-demand scanning.
    Some things you should know:
    Ad-Aware will find Most Recently Used lists - these are harmless. Leave them be. It's better to clean these MRUs using a dedicated cleaner like CCleaner.
    To make most of Ad-Aware's scan, you must also update it regularly.
    Furthermore, select full Scan and Scan within archive options.
    There are more settings, can't recall them all by heart right now, but I'll find it and post soon.
    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
  5. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Hi, I think it's in Ad-watch: open it, look in the Options tab: there must be a "load Ad-watch on start-up" option to disable.

    Cheers,
    nicM
     
  6. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hi everyone and thank you for the replies.

    I will disable the Ad-Watch from running as Spy Sweeper is running right? And I will also disable it from starting at start-up.

    Thanks..

    Gracie :)
     
  7. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Ata girl and Good Night Gracie !;)
     
  8. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi All,

    Should'nt that have been, "say goodnight Gracie."
     
  9. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hey Rico !
    Bite me .:D How are you my friend . Oops . Um . Better stay on topic before I get hung . Um , yes , um SS will work in realtime with Ad Aware used as an on demand . Um . I already said that though so ...
    say goodnight Rico;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.