Ad-Aware 2009/Version 8.1

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Securon, Oct 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Anybody taken the New Ad-Aware for a test drive? Cnet states it supposedly is lighter, scans quicker is more effective at detection and removal of malware etc. Once upon a time the product was okay then the good engineers at Lavasoft turned it into bloatware and as a result their loyal customer base left in droves. But always of the mind to permit a second chance maybe there might be merit to Lavasoft and Cnet's claims. Sincerely...Securon
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2009
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Let us know how it goes. 73.5 meg download. Seems big.
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    according to CNET thers some sort of behavior blocker in it i guess?
     
  4. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Just completed first Quick scan,i've got to admit it was quick it detected fifteen low level threat cookies. The set up is quick and the Gui is excellent and their was no lag detected, so far so good! Maybe they've gone back in time. This is one time when that's not a bad thing. Sincerely...Securon
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    The last thing I need is another on-demand scanner(Current malwarebytes, SAS, Hitman Pro, IOBit 360), but I will give it a go anyway.
     
  6. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Is this new or old news? o_O

    I didn't follow the news on Ad-Aware and have no idea if it is old news...

    http://www.lavasoft.com/mylavasoft/support/blog/the-new-adaware-is-here

    Here are some screenshots and comments:

    http://www.softpedia.com/reviews/windows/Ad-Aware-Pro-Internet-Security-Scan-and-Remove-Review-124195.shtml

    http://www.softpedia.com/reviews/windows/Ad-Aware-Pro-Internet-Security-Review-124190.shtml

    Genotype is a technology used by Sophos. Did anyone know if Ad-Aware is licensing Sophos antivirus in its products?
     
  7. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    So now it's not anymore only about spyware but it's antimalware too and runs in real time including behaviour blocker? :eek:

    It seems i have lost many episodes in the evolution of Adware.

    Any impressions? Runs heavy on CPU?
     
  8. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    Are they still using Outpost firewall and Avira av?
     
  9. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Not sure, since it mentioned Genotype detection and Genotype detection is a characteristic of Sophos AntiVirus. Have no idea if they mean the same thing or just a coincidence in technology naming.
     
  10. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Does anyone know what AV it uses ? I couldn't find it, but then again, I didn't search for long.
     
  11. Zimzi

    Zimzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    289
  12. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Cool! A 73.5 meg cookie cleaner!
    Must have...:rolleyes:
     
  13. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    that gave me a good LOL.
     
  14. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Must admit, I'm a bit apologetic to be so cynical. (But just a bit.)
    I have no idea how good (or not) this program is. And not much desire to find out.
    Others may find it useful.
     
  15. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Mr. Christie you make good cookies! As stated everyone at one time deserves a second chance, and as stated someone else might find it useful. The way I perceive it it's a good backup on demand scanner, to compliment Prevx 3.0. Once again only time will tell. Sincerely...Securon
     
  16. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I get redirected (different language).

    Antivirus is mentioned, but not which antivirus is used ?

    Does anyone have a clue ?
     
  17. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Does the free version still run the service in the background even when the program is not being used?
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    Avira Antivir.
    But without herulistic module (for v8, i dont know may be added v8.1)

    i think it is perfect for the additional protection if you are not using avira.
    it is new emsisoft A2, it has inthe house engine+AV protection.

    i tested adaware v8 and avira
    Dedection rate lover than avira because hasnt got herulistic module but avira's blacklist very good.
     
  19. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    It'd seem so.

    It should be noted that at least one other competing free software has similar background service running all the time. So Lavasoft is not alone. This has its upsides too, such as the software functioning under limited user accounts as the service itself runs with system rights.
     
  20. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Pc Mag just reviewed it and gave it a good rating.
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2354111,00.asp
     
  21. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hmm, interesting. This review along with an older one from another site seems to suggest that Ad-aware could be improving. I wonder how well the free version would do?
     
  22. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    so if u run on a 1TB hdd(not so rare these days) thats 1 bafrilionth of ur total capacity..oh noes the sky is falling
     
  23. progress

    progress Guest

    Is it possible to install Ad-Aware Anti-Malware without resident guard? :doubt:
     
  24. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I been using Ad-aware Plus Internet Security for a few weeks now. Got it when they had a special on the the 3 user license. I must say it does seem to run quite light on my system. I actually forgot i had it installed on my system for a while, it seems very quiet and hasn't popped up anything at all. It runs 2 main background processes which are using around 100mb.The installation size in my Program Files directory is only around 100mb but it also has another folder in Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data which is 300mb so it does seem to consume a fair amount of space. Other than that i can't complain, its run problem free so far.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.